Title: Our Lady of Altagracia (statue) brought from Spain by Alfonso and Antonio Trejo
The Dominican Republic, where the evangelization of the New World began, is under the protection of the Virgin under two titles: Our Lady of Mercy, the principal patroness who was so proclaimed in 1616 during the Spanish colonial rule, and the Virgin of Altagracia, Protector and Queen of the hearts of the Dominicans. "Tatica from Higuey," as the natives of Quisqueya fondly refer to her, has her story and legend. There are historic documents that prove that in 1502, in the island of Santo Domingo, the Most Blessed Virgin was honored under the title of our Lady of la Altagracia, whose portrait had been brought from Spain by Alfonso and Antonio Trejo, brothers who were among the first European settlers of the island. When the brothers moved to the city of Higuey, they took the image with them. Later they offered it to the parish church so that everyone could venerate it. The first shrine was completed in 1572, and in 1971 the present Basilica was consecrated.
Popular piety has it that the devout daughter of a rich merchant had asked him to bring her a portrait of Our Lady of Altagracia from Santo Domingo. The father tried to get it for her, but with no success. Neither clergymen nor tradesmen had ever heard that Marian title.
Back at Higuey, the merchant decided to stay overnight at a friend's house. After dinner, feeling sorry for his daughter's disappointment when he should arrive empty-handed, he described to those present his unsuccessful search. As he spoke, an old man with a long beard, who was passing by, took out of his knapsack a rolled up painting and gave it to the merchant saying, "This is what you are looking for." It was the Virgin of Altagracia. At day break the old man had disappeared.
The portrait of Our Lady of Altagracia is thirty-three centimeters wide by forty-five high. Expert opinion has it that it is a primitive work of the Spanish school, painted towards the end of the fifteenth or beginning of the sixteenth century. The painting, which depicts a Nativity scene, was restored successfully in Spain in 1978, and its original beauty and color can now be appreciated. The rigor of time, candles' smoke and rubbing by the hands of the devotees had so altered the surface of the portrait that it had become nearly unrecognizable.
The scene of Jesus' birth is painted on a fine cloth. The Virgin, lovely and serene, occupies the center of the picture; she is looking with tenderness at the child who lies nearly naked on the straw of the manger. A blue cloak sprinkled with stars envelops her and a white scapular closes her garments in front.
Maria of Altagracia wears the colors of the Dominican flag; anticipating in this manner the national identity. A radiant crown and twelve stars frame her head which now has a crown on it. The frame which holds the painting is probably the most refined example of Dominican gold work. This marvel made of gold, precious stones and enamel, is the work of an unknown eighteenth century artist. Possibly he used the jewels that the Virgin's devotees gratefully offered her.
The image of Our Lady of Altagracia had the privilege of being crowned twice: on August 15, 1922 - during the pontificate of Pius XI - and by Pope John Paul II, who on January 25, 1979, during his visit to Santo Domingo, personally crowned the image with a golden silver tiara, his personal gift to the Virgin, the first evangelizer of the Americas.
The Virgin appeared asking that a sanctuary be built.
Source: Chiron, 1995, 70 and W.A. Christian Jr. Religosidad local en España de Felipe II, Madrid, Nerea, 1991, 103.
Dolní Dvonste, Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemia, Czech Republic
The story goes that around 1500, Mary appeared to some shepherds here atop a rock, which then split. The gap kept growing; it is said that the world will end when a hay wagon can pass through. In the 1600s, Clarissan nuns built the church of St. Mary of the Snow over the Holy Stone. A nearby chapel houses a healing spring. In 1949 Communist authorities closed the church and repurposed it as a collective farm granary, then as a military warehouse. Its Baroque fittings were looted, its stucco decorations used for target practice, its convent ruined and demolished. Following the 1989 Velvet Revolution, an international effort by German, Austrian, and Czech believers restored the church and chapel and renovated the statue, which had been moved to another church for safekeeping. The annual pilgrimage on the Sunday after August 5, feast of Our Lady of the Snows, which resumed in 1991, features mass in Czech and German, followed by a picnic.
VEDANO AL LAMBRO (Italy)
Visionaries: Many people Title: Our Lady of Mercy
It is difficult to determine the origin of the devotion to Our Lady of Mercy. The popular tradition in the time of plague, would be that many people fled from the massacre of the terrible disease and would encamp in the woods. But here too the scourge overtook them, so not knowing what to do, devoted as they were, they turned fervently to the Madonna.
And the Madonna appeared on a tree, carrying in her arms the good and comforting Child.The fever quickly disappeared.
Title: Our Lady of the Pettoruto Visionary: Felice Olcese, a deaf mute
In the spring of 1500, a deaf-mute shepherd saw the Virgin who asked him to ask a priest for a church built in her honor.
Source: Gamba, 1999, 333.
Visionary: Bl. Magdalen Pannatieri (1443-1503)
Bl. Magdalen saw the Virgin in 1503, shortly before her death. Magdalen was beatified by Pope Leo XII.
Source: Walsh, t. II, 1904, 317-319
Dec 18, 1503
Villarrasa, Huelva, Andalucia, (Spain)
Title: Virgen de los Remedios Feast: August 15
Sept 29, 1504
Visionary: Bl. Mario Omodei
A young man prayed fervently to the Blessed Virgin Mary for the healing of his brother who was very sick. One day Mary appeared to him and promised him that his brother would be cured. In fact, shortly after it happened, in gratitude he erected a church; Inside was placed against a statue of Our Lady of Grace. In 1690, the coronation of the statue celebrated. Even today in this town, the Sanctuary of the Madonna di Tirano remains.
June 9, 1505
SAN POLO (Italy)
Visionary: Giovanna Title: Our Lady of the Walnut
A young man prayed fervently to the Blessed Virgin Mary for the healing of his brother who was very sick. One day Mary appeared to him and promised him that his brother would be cured. In fact, shortly after it happened, in gratitude he erected a church; Inside was placed against a statue of Our Lady of Grace. In 1690, the coronation of the statue celebrated. Even today in this town, the Sanctuary of the Madonna di Tirano remains.
July 2, 1505
León, Castile and León, Spain
Visionary: A shepherd
Title: Virgen del Camino, Valverde de la Virgen
The Blessed Virgin Mary appeared to a shepherd entrusting the task to go to the bishop and tell him that he had to erect a church in her honor in the place where she had appeared. The church was first built and was entrusted to the Augustinians, Dominicans and then to the Franciscans in 1518.
On July 2, 1505, while watching his sheep, Alvar Simón Fernández saw the Virgin, radiant with light, and heard her say: "Go to the city; tell the bishop to come to this place and install in a decent place this image my Son wishes to appear here, for the good of this land." The shepherd answered, "Señora, how will they believe it was you who sent me?" She asked for his slingshot, and with it launched a small stone, saying, "When the bishop sees this stone it will be so large that he will know I have sent you, and where you find the stone is where my Son and I want you to put the image." The miraculously-located shrine was outside the city of León on the Camino de Santiago, the pilgrim road to Compostela, hence the title Virgin of the Road. The Virgen del Camino was declared Patron of the León region in 1914. The statue is a 33" wooden Pietà, which the basilica's website dates to 1514. Its coronation, which Pope Benedict XI authorized in 1917, was carried out on October 19, 1930. The large, modern sanctuary completed in 1961 houses the statue in its retablo of the 1700s. The Virgin of the Road is honored on September 15, feast of Our Lady of Sorrows. (Information and picture from the sanctuary's site, virgendelcamino.dominicos.es/webvirgen.)
Title: Blessed Virgin of the Little Ship Visionary: Carlo Baldissera Zanon
March 19, 1509
Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Aveyron, Midi-Pyrénées, (France)
Title: Notre-Dame de Treize-Pierres (Our Lady of Thirteen Stones)
March 9, 1510
Motto di Livenza (Italy)
Visionary: Giovanni Cigana (farmer)
the Mother of Jesus appeared to a pious old man with 20 years recited every day S. Rosary and knelt in front of a happy "Capital" of the Virgin Mary, located at the intersection of the roads for Motta, Oderzo and Redigole. Even the morning of March 9 the Cigana, going to work, he stopped there to pray, and then continued on his way. But soon he stopped, struck by a marvelous vision: sitting quietly on the green wheat in a field, there was a beautiful young girl, dressed in white. Between the old and amazed the mysterious girl, he played a simple and friendly dialogue, then when the Cigana knew it was the Holy Virgin, fell to his knees, as if shot and sat in silence. So in the fresh morning sounded the voice of Madonna full of sadness and pity. She ordered Cigana to fast with the family for three Saturdays and preach fasting and repentance to all the people of Motta and the towns and villages of the land trevisana: Who had fasted with true repentance, he would have received mercy and forgiveness from the Lord, angry for too many sins of the people. To then leave an indelible memory of his beloved land of apparitions in Motta, the Virgin ordered that in that place was to be built a church.
April 28, 1510
Title: Madonna of the Chestnuts
Visionaries: father and son
In the chestnut forest where a Sanctuary now stands , appeared to two men, probably father and son, intent on collecting the leaf, the Blessed Virgin Mary. Our Lady asked the two seers to tell all the people of nearby villages exceptional event, and report that the Most Holy Mother of God specifically asked to come at that lonely place built a church in his honor. To give strength to His message and to dispel any doubt the actual presence of Our Lady, suddenly, on a large chestnut tree, the fruit became ripe. Hearing the news, the priest landowner named John Moroni, happy for this great honor, gathered the elders of Brentwood, the Ossanego, of Fontana, and he gave his farm to build a church in honor of the Madonna. Obtaining the full approval of the diocesan bishop, he began work immediately with the erection of an altar and later, even the church.
Sept 8, 1510
Title: Madonna of the Mountain Visionary: Antonio Zampara
Castelleone, Lombardy (Italy)
Title: Holy Mary of Mercy
Visionary: Domenica Zanenga (grape harvester)
Mary appeared to a grape harvester urging that she work to make the building of a church in that place. The woman was immediately prepared to fulfill the wish of Our Lady. With the agreement of all the people, the church was built. In 1560, the church, a portrait of the Madonna was painted. In 1617, this place was turned into an Augustinian convent.
Title: Liberation of Prisoners
Visionary: St. Jerome Emiliani (1486-1537)
When St. Jerome Emiliani was still very young, the administrator of the fortress of Castelnuovo, he was jailed a day after an enemy attack . In the solitude of prison, he sought the help of God so He began to pray, turning to the Holy Virgin Mary, "liberation of prisoners," promising that if he returned free, he would go on pilgrimage to the Marian shrine of Treviso. Jerome in fact obtained a release from captivity and the certain death sentence through the intercession of the Virgin, who appeared to him and released him from his chains. The Lady then proceeded to protect him miraculously on his way to Treviso. This allowed him to cross unharmed through armies in conflictun and to fulfill his vow. In fact, he upon arriving at the shrine, he fell exhausted at the foot of the sacred image of Our Lady the Great, sitting majestically on the throne with the Child on her knees.
Jerome was in early youth a soldier then, and following the apparitions he received, he dedicated himself to serving others, doing penance and works of charity. At first he lent assistance to the sick and abandoned, later to education of orphans. He founded orphanages in various Italian cities and then, although he was a layman, organized support for the Somaschi Fathers (originally the "Society of the servants of the poor", regular clergy). In 1747 Jerome was elevated to the altars by Pope Benedict XIV in 1766 and was canonized by Clement XIII. Finally, in 1928, was declared the patron saint of orphans. Saint Jerome Emiliani is represented in art with the ball and chain in the hands of prisoners.
Visionary: a noble knight
In Silesia (on the Polish side) is the sanctuary of Albendorf, this place is also known as "the Silesian Jerusalem." The origin of the story that led to the development of this place of pilgrimage dates back to the thirteenth century: the Virgin Mary appeared in the castle-Rathen Albendorf to a noble knight. Following the event, he carved a wooden a statue of Mary of about 27 cm similar to her appearance and the statue was then placed near a lime tree. After a while a blind man came to to the place to worship the statue, before which he stopped to pray devoutly. Suddenly, as he prayed with intense fervor, regained the gift of sight. The news of the miracle spread and many devotees immediately came to pay homage to the statue of the Madonna. Pilgrims built a wooden church as a place of worship, then in 1512 a nobleman built a stone church and the the statue was brought inside. The pilgrimage continued to grow more and more. In the seventeenth century, Daniel of Osterberg, in addition to drawing the places of Our Lord Jesus Christ's life and painful passion, also painted this place, inspired by the location between the mountains. He wanted to give the title of this portrait "Silesian Jerusalem". In 1723 the church of this place, renovated and enlarged, was elevated to the basilica and in some periods counted annually visited by over 150,000 pilgrims.
July 2, 1512
Title: Madonna of Ash
Visionary: Petruccia Carobbio
Aug 14, 1512
Visionaries: Piero Zagabria and Giovanni Grandi TItle: Madonna of the Vision
Seven lights suddenly appeared around an old painting of the Madonna placed outside the church of the Carmelites. After a fire in the convent, the miraculous painting was found intact. In addition, each time they wanted to restore it, the painting shed the new colors. In 1634, the colors and facial features of the Madonna were seen changing. This portrait is popularly known as a "miraculous icon."
Title: Notre Dame de Garaison Visionary: Angleze Sagazan
In France, in the Pyrenees, the Virgin appeared to a shepherdess,
Angleze Sagazan. Mary visited her three times near the source
of the Cier. Mary made
the request to her, "I want a chapel to be built here to me."
Title: Queen of the Sky Visionary: A devout hermit
A devout hermit, saw Mary as Queen of Heaven, surrounded by several angels, and heard the voice of heavenly hymns. When the man people about told the vision, he was at once believed. In 1518 some miracles occurred in Werthenstein that attested to the Marian apparition. In 1520 a chapel was consecrated on the site.
July 2, 1518
Camogli (Liguria, diocese of Genoa, Italy)
Title: Madonna of the Mountain Visionary: Angela Schiaffino
According to tradition the Blessed Virgin Mary appeared to a girl in this place and asked for the construction of a church and a convent. Before this desire of Our Lady was heard and believed by the faithful a long time passed. Only in 1634, a new church was built near the monastery served. The church was consecrated the statue of the Madonna and the custody of the latter. In 1817 the first statue of Blessed Virgin Mary was crowned by Pope Benedict XV.
Title: Advocate of Sinners Visionary: Battista Comino Bajoni / Baglioli
On June 8, 1519 the Virgin appeared to Battista Comine Bajono, a young deaf and dumb shepherd since birth, giving him a message for the inhabitants of the region: to respect the holy days, leave the dissolute life, no more swearing, etc."If this does not happen, expect the great punishments!" said the apparition. The Virgin desired that a church be built in that place. "If you are asked who told you about this, tell them, 'it was the Advocate of Sinners! And as an additional sign, take this rock and those who want to see it: it will change color from time to time" she added. In 1548 the first church was built, replaced in 1776 by the present sanctuary.
Source: Dictionary of the Apparitions of the Virgin Mary p. 60. (Gamba 1999, 321 and Rosa Mystica n 38-39, July-August 1981)
August 10, 1519
Catignac, Mont Vardaille (France)
Title: Our Lady of Graces
Visionary: Jean de la Baume (farmer)
On the 10th of August, a woodcutter, John de la Baume, went up to the Verdaille hill.
He was alone. As was his custom, he started his day in prayer. When he stood up, he saw a cloud and the Blessed Virgin then appeared with the Baby Jesus in her arms, surrounded by Saint Bernard of Clairvaux, Saint Catherine the martyr, and Saint Michael the Archangel.
Our Lady was standing with her feet on a crescent moon. She spoke to John in the following way,"I am the Blessed Virgin. Go and tell the clergy and the Consuls of Cotignac to build a church right here on this spot in the name of Our Lady of Graces, and have the faithful come here in procession to receive the gifts that I wish to bestow."
Then the vision disappeared. Was it a hallucination? Whether he doubted or not, John kept the message to himself, which entitled him to a second apparition of the Mother of God! The following day, the 11th of August, standing in the same place to finish his wood cutting, he had the same vision and received the same request.
This time, he decided to obey and went down to the village immediately.
John was known to be a sober man and both the authorities and the villagers supported him unanimously.
In the same year the first stone was laid for the foundation of the church; two years later Pope Leo X approved of worship and pilgrimage.The chapel has been witness to many graces and miraculous signs, most notably the miraculous birth of King Louis XIV - a birth that was difficult to obtain for his royal parents had previously been unable to conceive.
Visionary: Mons. Gavan Dumbar (bishop of the diocese)
The Virgin appeared to Mons. Gavan Dumbar, bishpo of the diocese, while he was praying before an image of Our Lady. She told to him apostasy had caused the calamities of his country, but being the last catholic bishop of the city he would be saved.
Source: Walsh, II, 339-351
Visionary: a young shepherdess Title: Our Lady of Healing Love.
In a town near Tarbes, a shepherdess had a vision of Mary. The Lady gracefully expressed the desire to see a church built there in her honor. This apparition instructed to the girl to tell the inhabitants and authorities of the village so that they could implement the request. She prayed to the Mother of God to guard her sheep until she returned with her father and witnesseses. The Blessed Virgin's agreed to shepherdess' request the flock and well supervised. After some time, some people came with her father and his daughter, the Lady showed herself for a brief moment and then disappeared. Inspired by this appearance, these good people began construction with great fervor. So even in this place a church was built in devotion to the Our Lady, where the Virgin was venerated under the title of "Our Lady of Healing Love."
May 4, 1521
Cori (LT) (Italia)
Title: Madre delle ginestre (Our Lady of the Broom); Our Lady of Salvation Visionary: Oliva Lannese (3)
The sanctuary is the place where the Madonna went to rescue a three-year-old Olive during a storm, who was found only after eight days and when she had told her story, all the church with the clergy and magistrates, went in procession to the mountain, where they unearthed a fresco with the image of the Virgin on a throne holding the arm of the Child in blessing. The fourteenth-century fresco with many successive overlays, probably belonged to an ancient chapel.
On the site, the first church was consecrated in 1537 to Our Lady of the Broom. The numerous miracles attributed to the Virgin in the following years led in addition to the change of the title Our Lady of Salvation, to the construction of a new larger church, the present, consecrated in 1639.
Visionary: St. Ignatius of Loyola (1491-1556)
St. Ignatius of Loyola, who in his youth was an officer of the Spanish viceroy of Navarre, was wounded in a battle. In the fall of 1521, during his convalescence in the family castle of Loyola, he came into contact with the heavenly world: in that period of isolation, the first ideas of mystical feats began to form in the mind of the young soldier, switching from thoughts of the prowess of chivalry and turning into religious ones. One night, while he was still awake ,he clearly saw an image of the Holy Virgin with the Child Jesus. He received similar apparitions in March 1522 and in February 1523. The apparitions and visions struck him so deeply that they cast a new light on his life.
In this period of mystical fervor, Ignatius was brought to "his inner spiritual truth," which help shape his future exercises for the first time. His heart opened completely to the service of God. After healing, he retired into solitude in Manresa, then made a pilgrimage to Palestine and later began the study of philosophy and theology in Barcelona, Alcala, Salamanca and Paris. In 1537, he was ordained a priest and devoted himself to the founding of the Society of Jesus (Jesuits), who were at the devoted service of Pope Paul III. Biographies and diaries of St. Ignatius of Loyola tell us that the apparitions of the Blessed Virgin Mary and our Lord Jesus Christ in his life were frequent.
Feb 28, 1522
Title: Madonna delle Lacrime (Miraculous image)
The Shrine of Our Lady of Tears is the sanctuary of Treviglio dedicated to Our Lady of Tears that, according to legend, 28 February 1522 saved, with its prodigious tears, the city from destruction by the French troops, led by General Odet de Foix , offended by the insults of some unwary citizens secure the imperial support.
The sanctuary, the only one in the city, reminds all the miraculous events which occurred in the church of the convent of the Augustinian and the deposition of the ' helmet and sword by the general, particularly devoted to the cult of Mary, immediately imitated by his soldiers. The sanctuary has been progressively widened and enriched with different styles which continue from 1600 to the present day.
On the 21st and 23rd of October 1523, Francisca la Brava, a 25 year old mother of a family, said that she saw the Virgin, surrounded by angels, from whom she received a candle. On November 28, 1523, Francisca was condemned by the tribunal of the Inquisition.
Visionary: Von Buren Zumbúel of Nidwalden (farm worker)
Von Buren Zumbúel of Nidwalden, a farm worker, rescued a a statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary from Protestant Reformers. He took her home first and then, in summer, put it in the hollow of a maple tree on the high pastures. Dedicated his daily prayers and showed his devotion. Come the fall, the laborer, who was driving cattle to the valley, he wanted to take the statue itself, but to his amazement had to find that it is impossible to remove it from its place. Realizing the impossibility of the situation and how unusual this phenomenon was, the man decided to seek the advice of a priest. The cleric, seeing it as a symbol of the will of Our Lady to provide her graces there, advised him to build a chapel on the mountain of Nidwalden. Even today directed the pilgrimage to Maria-Rickenbach remains very active.
May 22, 1527
Visionary: Maria Amadini (22) Title: Our Lady of Mercy
Mary appeared to a young orphan of 22 years. She said: "My Son Jesus is so wounded by the sins he had decided to send calamities on this place. Go and tell everyone to fast for three Saturdays on bread and water. If they do, will not be punished. " The churches also building a church. As proof of the apparitions in the same day, she miraculously healed her brother. Ten days after the appearance, construction began on the church where God worked miracles and conversions through Mary.On July 8, 1528 the Bishop of Brescia had already officially recognized the cult.
Title: Our Lady of Capocroce (miraculous image) Witnesses: the soliders of Charles III
The church in the little town of Frascati bears engraved on its facade the appropriate motto: Tu nos ab hoste protege. (Do Thou protect us from the enemy). The miraculous picture of Our Lady of Capocroce is Frascati’s greatest treasure, but the early history of this picture in unknown. The soldiers of Charles III, Duke of Bourbon, ravaged the Eternal City, and set off to Frascati, 15 miles away. Their approach was visible from afar to the inhabitants of this mountain city, and preparations were made for defense, while the women and children fled to the church to beg Our Lady’s help. But just as the army of mercenaries arrived within sight of the vineyard wall, whereon the picture at that time was, the lips of the painted Virgin opened, and a voice of irresistible majesty spoke: "Back, soldiers! This land is Mine!" The effect was instantaneous; the soldiers turned and fled in confusion, with frightened shrieks of "Back! Back!" Frequently during succeeding centuries, Our Lady has shown Her maternal protection toward Frascati, and on one occasion the town was entirely preserved from the cholera which devastated the neighborhood. After the miraculous deliverance of 1527, a chapel was built, and the picture placed therein.
Visionary: The town people
The plague raged. The epidemic had infected many cities and all the faithful turned with deep concern to the Mother of God, begging for the healing of the sick and the end of this evil. In the city of Sens, prayer of the whole population was particularly fervent and full of true devotional zeal. According to the he tradition of this city, during a Mass in the church's main town, Holy Virgin Mary appeared in an intense blue light surrounded by many Angels and gave renewed vigor and high hopes to the people. Shortly after this, the epidemic stopped miraculously.
Oct 11 and 23, 1529
During the religious wars of Switzerland, on the nights of October 11th and 23rd, Mary appeared to the Catholic soldiers on Mount Gubel and renewed their vigor. Inspired by this apparition they all and all used the battle cry of "Mary, Mother of God", they were victorious despite being heavily outnumbered. In memory of these two apparitions of the victorious battle, a chapel was erected on Mount Gubel which was consecrated in 1559. The Sanctuary was cared for by some hermits until the year 1647, when it was taken over by the Capuchins who had meanwhile founded a nearby convent.
Title: Holy Mary of Constantinople
Visionary: A little old lady
Visionary: Maurice von Mettenwyl (City Councilman) and crowd
Title: Queen of Angels
During the night of Pentecost of 1513, the city councilor, Maurice von Mettenwyl, saw the Virgin Mary surrounded by a heavenly light and surrounded by arrows and the moon was at her feet. Mary appeared crowned and carrying the Child Jesus on her left arm, while the right hand was a scepter. Faced with this majestic appearance of the man was shocked and fell on his knees, promising to rebuild the chapel and put the portrait of Mary in her place, as she had appeared.
Title: Our Lady of Grace at Ipswich Visionary: Anne Wentworth (12)
A miracle at the shrine of Our Lady of Ipswich is recorded by Sir Thomas More in his book The Supplication of Souls, and he had news of it on first-hand knowledge. The miracle was bestowed on Anne Wentworth, the 12 year old daughter of Sir Roger Wentworth, a friend of More's. Anne suffered from seizures in which she spasmed, blasphemed and was said to be able to utter prophesy "vexed and tourmented by our gostly enemye the devyll". After a vision in which she beheld the image of Our Lady of Grace at Ipswich, she was taken to the shrine and "layde before the ymage of our Blessyd Lady....grevously tourmented and in face, eyen, loke and countenance so grysely chaunged...that it was a terrible syght to beholde". There in the presence of the whole company, she was restored "perfytely and sodeynly". Perhaps More's later spirited defence of the Catholic Church was in small part due to this miracle so close at hand which obviously edified him greatly. Anne, in grateful recognition of the miracle, took the veil and became a nun.
Gibbilmanna, diocese of Palermo, Sicily (Italy)
Title: Maria SS. di Gibbilmanna (Our Lady of Gibbilmanna) - miraculous statue
On Easter Sunday (April 5) 1534 a boat carrying the statue took refuge from a storm near the village of Castello di Roccella. Legend has it that Mary appeared to a Capuchin friar who lived in Gibilmanna, telling him to fetch the statue and build a shrine. The statue was loaded onto a wagon pulled by oxen. At a certain point the oxen refused to move any further. At this spot a shrine was erected for Mary.
Title: Our Lady of the Rosary Visionary: Many People
Title: Our Lady of Mercy (statue) Feast Day: September 24
Devotion to the Virgin of Mercy dates back to the time of the founding of Lima. It is known that the Mercederian friars, who came to Peru with the conquerors, had already built their primitive convent chapel around 1535. This chapel served as Lima's first parish until the construction of the Main Church in 1540. The Mercederians not only evangelized the region, but they also participated in the city's development, building beautiful churches that have been preserved as a valuable cultural and religious patrimony.
With these friars came their celestial patroness, the Virgin of Mercy, a Marian title of the thirteenth century. Tradition has it that around 1218, St. Peter Nolasco and James I, King of Aragon and Catalonia, experienced separately a vision of the Most Holy Virgin who asked them to found a religious order dedicated to rescuing the many Christian captives held by the Moslems. This Order of Our Lady of Mercy, approved as a military order in 1235 by Pope Gregory IX, was able to liberate thousands of Christian prisoners, and later became dedicated to teaching and social work. The Mercederian friars' habit imitates the garments worn by the Virgin when she appeared to the founder of the order. The image of the Virgin of Mercy is dressed all in white: over her long tunic she wears a scapular with the shield of the order imprinted breast high. A cloak covers her shoulders and her long hair is veiled by a fine lace mantilla. Some images have her standing, with the child in her arms, and others with her arms extended showing a royal scepter in her right hand and in the left some open chains, a symbol of liberation. Such is the appearance of the beautiful image venerated in the Basilica of Mercy in the capital of Peru. It was enthroned at the beginning of the XVII century and has been considered the patroness of the capital. In 1730 she was proclaimed "Patroness of the Peruvian Lands" and in 1823 "Patroness of the Armies of the Republic." On the first centennial of the nation's independence, the image was solemnly crowned and received the title of "Grand Marshall of Peru," on September 24, 1921, Feast of Our Lady of Mercy, since then declared a national holiday, when every year the army renders homage to her high military rank.
The image carries numerous decorations granted by the Republic of Peru, its governors and national institutions. In 1970 the town council of Lima gave her the "Keys of the City," and in 1971 the president of the Republic conferred on her the Great Peruvian Cross of Naval Merit, gestures which evidence the affection and devotion of Peru to Our Lady of Mercy, that many consider their national patroness.
The Virgin appeared below the bastion of the city to scare off the Protestants.
Source: Dictionary of the Apparitions of the Virgin Mary p 74. (Rosa Mystica, n. 37, 37)
March 16, 1536
Title: Our Lady of Victories / Mother of Mercy Visionary: Tomo Botta (farmer)
On the morning of March 18, farmer Antonio Botta was on his way to work in his vineyard in San Bernardo. He almost arrived on the scene when he saw an enormously clear light shine before him, with a clearly discernible figure of a woman who told him: "Do not be afraid! I am the Virgin Mary. "Atonement and urged him to prayer". Some weeks after this apparition, the man received a second message: this time he saw Mary, who sat on a big rock in a stream, and said that without prayers and good works, the world would fall into great affliction and misfortune. It was therefore necessary to convert the people who should have been away from the faith... Then Our Lady spoke of Divine Mercy.
Botta told the people just what he had seen and heard and was at once believed. A large church was erected on the site and many pilgrims visited the "Mother of Mercy."
On March 18, 1660, Mons. Gregoire Ardizzone, declared Our Lady of Mercy "patroness and protectress of the city". A statue was created shortly thereafter and installed in the chapel of white marble inside the cathedral in 1752.
On March 18, there is a procession organized in her honor.
Source: C. Turchini-Zuccarelli, Les Merveilleuses Apparitions de Notre-Dame, Paris 1977.
May 23, 1536
Visionary:Christians besieged by Indians arsonists Feast:May 23
The virgin appears to Christians besieged by Indians arsonists. The flames go out mysteriously. Some pilgrims go on places to worship Our Lady of Descent. A chapel was built, replaced later by the great cathedral of Cuzco. Bishop Bernardino, archbishop of the diocese, told the facts in a report sent to Charles V.
Source: G. Bonaņo, "Las Apariciones de la Virgen Maria y la liturgia", Las Apariciones marianas en nla vida de la Iglesia. Estudios Marianos, voil. 52. Salamanca, 1987, 141. Chiron, 1995, 108; Rosa Mystica, n. 37. maggio 1981, 4.
May 31, 1536
Monte Stella (Italy)
Title: Madonna of the Star Visionary: Antonio de'Antoni
July 11, 1536
Title: Madonna of Mt Carmel Visionary: A young shepherdess (12)
May 20, 1537
Farigliano, Cuneo, Piedmont, Italy
Title: Vergine delle Grazie Feast: Sixth Sunday after Easter.
Sveta Gora (Slovenia)
Visionary: Urska Ferligojeva (shepherd)
Mary appeared on the mountain Skalnica, now called the Holy Mountain, in the year 1539 to the shepherdess Ursula Ferligoj, with this message: "Tell the people that I build a temple over here and come and ask me thank you." Not believed by the authorities, Urula she was imprisoned several times in public prisons of the castle of Salcano, from which, however, the shepherdess always miraculously managed to escape. The fact immediately attracted crowds of people on the mountain Skalnica, this hallowed place that quickly became one of the most visited places of pilgrimage, where was built the first wooden chapel to pay homage to the Virgin Mary. The irrepressible piety of devout pilgrims and their turnout ever more intense and large made the Authority more open and condescending, so that ruled the year 1540 to release, through the replacement of Gorizia captain Hieronymus Attems cleared for the construction of church on the mountain Skalnica. In digging the foundations was found a prodigious stone slab containing ornaments and the words of the angelic salutation "Ave gratia plena, Dominus tecum, benedicta milieribus you in," engraved on 120 circles, spread over 10 rows. The new church built in the Gothic - Renaissance was consecrated by the vicar general Egidio Falcetta, while the Patriarch of Aquileia, Cardinal Marino Grimani donated to the sanctuary in the year 1544 a picture showing the artistic image of grace and mercy of the Mother of God , attributed to the Venetian painter Jacopo Palma il Vecchio, with the real name Jacopo Negretti. The Cardinal wanted the framework would replace the previous statue and was thus exposed for public veneration, in fact, the beautiful Immaculate from face suffused with an 'ineffable sweetness appears in all its wonderful and compelling perfection and never ceases to attract not only individuals but multitudes of the faithful who follow continuously at his feet.
Title: Our Lady of Ocotlan Visionary: Juan Diego Bernardino
A young native Tlaxcalan man named Juan Diego Bernardino was going to draw water from a river believed at the time to have healing properties. Our Lady appeared to him and lead him to a special spring of water. She promised him that an image of herself could be found within a tree. The Franciscans discovered the image and placed it in the San Lorenzo monastery.
Title: Our Lady of Zapopan (miraculous statue) Feast Day: October 12
Brought to Zapopan by Father Antonio de Segovia in 1541 to a conquered territory called New Galicia, the "Little Virgin", less than fourteen inches high, according to legend emitted rays of light as he preached. "The Little Virgin" was at once installed in a place of honor at the Zapopan Church of the Franciscans which was later replaced by the present basilica.
According to a legend of this place, Mary appeared twice to a shepherdess named Ferligoinza, and would give a message to be transmitted to the people, "Tell t he people that I must build a chapel in this place, and begging me to receive the my love and my forgiveness. "
Visionary: Cornelius Wischaven (1509 - 1559) (priest)
Cornelius Wischaven, born in 1509 in Mechel, was ordained in 1533 and was active for fourteen years as a preacher and quiet confessor in Lowen. Having a special affection for Mary, who appeared to him in 1543, he was led by the Jesuit Father Peter Faber, as the first Flemish in the Society of Jesus where he was welcomed by Ignatius of Loyola in person. In 1547, he lived in Rome where he became a "school spirit" of the Jesuits. He died in Loreto in 1559.
March 28, 1543
Visionary: Giulia Manfrel, cowherd
VThe origin of the Shrine of Bocciola in the municipality of Ameno, fraction of Vacciago, provinca of Novara, comes down to one episode in the first half of the sixteenth century As we read in the diary of notary Elias Olina, Monday, May 28, 1543, "the Blessed Virgin Mary appeared to a girl who kept the beasts". Giulia Manfredi, that was the girl was dumb from birth and lived in Vacciago, in a house that still stands today along a lane just before the shrine. That day was the usual cattle grazing nearby, and a chapel in which was portrayed the Madonna Enthroned with the Child in her arms. Suddenly he saw a blaze in the branches of blackthorn (bud in the local dialect) the Madonna and Child. He spoke and said he enjoyed much of his prayers, that soon would welcome in heaven, but that before entrusting her to carry a message to all the inhabitants of the place: Our Lady asked them to solemnize in her honor, as well as on Sundays, Saturday afternoon, and in return would be her special protection. A proof of the truth of the promise and the appearance, Giulia Manfredi purchased the word. When told the neighbors what had happened and what had been commanded, the incredulity was won by another miracle, suddenly the church bells began to ring at the Vacciago party without being touched by anyone. Introduced the custom of the Sabbath rest, just as quickly it was thought the erection of a chapel where devotional still a plaque in 1852 on the roadside which leads to Vacciago Miasino, recalls the descent of the Queen of Heaven. The rush of the faithful and the fame of the place took a little later, from 1628, the erection of a larger sanctuary, which also incorporate the image of the Madonna and Child in front of which stood in prayer at the time of the shepherdess 'appearance.There were also some fragments preserved in a shrine of the bush on which the Madonna had appeared. The sanctuary grew further in size and beauty during the following centuries, gradually assuming its present appearance in the eighteenth century.The church has been adorned by Pope Gregory XVI in 1844 with the official title of "Sanctuary".
Title: Our Lady of Andacollo Visionaries: Angelina and Many People
Title: Our Lady of Andacollo Visionaries: Many People
June 25, 1548
Montegridolfo, Rimini, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Title: Beata Vergine delle Grazie
February 22, 1550
Castel San Pietro Terme, Bologna, Emilia Romagna, Italy
Title: Beata Vergine di Poggio Visionaries: Antonia Bedini
A blind old Antonia Bedini was begging for bread when the Madonna appeared saying, "Go home, and you'll find what you need in the cupboard, for as long as you live." Antonia obeyed, and her cupboard provided enough bread for her to eat until her death nine months later. The miracle immediately attracted popular devotion and further miracles. The sanctuary in the Poggio district was begun in 1551. The revered image on its main altar, brought from Medicina for the Rogations in 1568 and allowed to remain at the order of the bishop over Medicina's protest, is a 1500s painting of the French school by Giacomo son of Francesco. The Madonna is seated between Sts. Francis & Jerome, in a red robe, blue mantle & yellow-green veil, with a naked Child on her knee.
Source: "Apparizione di Poggio di Castel S.Pietro," www.mariadinazareth.it/www2005/Apparizioni/Poggio%20di%20Castel%20S.Pietro.htm; S.I.T.A., 220.127.116.11/stai/stai.run?3B6D2756,L=1.
September 6, 1553
Dongo, Como (Italy)
Title: Our Lady of Tears (SANTA MARIA DELLE LACRIME) - miraclous image Witness: Maria de 'Matti and many townspeople
n the evening, the image is seen oozing a tear from her right eye. A tear that is followed by others, noticed by some passersby who, filled with wonder, acclaim a miracle. The first to realizing it and to promulgate the news is a certain Maria de 'Matti, and she runs to notify the parish priest, Fr Bernardo Bonizio who placed a cup under the picture to collect the tears. The prodigious event is subject to regular review and canonical process established by the Bishop of Como Msgr. Philip Archinti, who calls eyewitnesses who testify under oath the truth of their statements. The devotion to Our Lady crying propagates in an extraordinary way. On the side of the lake the faithful flock to implore graces and protection. From the day of tearing the Virgin River is called Our Lady of the Miracle, and later Our Lady of Tears.
Title: Holy Mary of Petralba
Visionary: Leonardo Weissenstein (farmer)
July 2, 1557
Title: Our Lady of Montallegro Visionary: Giovanni Chichizola, a peasant
The sanctuary of the Montallegro Virgin Mary, near Rapallo, was built in her honour in 1558. According to tradition, the Madonna appeared (2 July 1557) on Monte Leto, to Giovanni Chichizola, a peasant, and showed him a picture of her passing from earthly life, saying that it had been transported by angels from Greece, and that she would leave it on the mountain side as a pledge of her love. The picture was placed in the principal Church of Rapallo for veneration, but two days later it mysteriously disappeared and was again found on a rock at Montallegro.
Thereupon the Rapallo people decided that here the Madonna wished the portrait to remain, and they began to build a shrine which was consecrated July, 1558. In 1574 some shipwrecked Greek sailors, recognizing the picture as one which was formerly venerated in Ragusa and which had been missing since 1557, claimed it.
After legal proceedings it was surrendered to them but the following day this miraculous painting reappeared in the sanctuary of Montallegro and has since remained there undisturbed. Apparently of Byzantine origin, the portrait represents the Virgin May lying on a bier, surrounded by several saints, and two angels, supporting a representation of the Holy Trinity symbolized by three human bodies merged into one.
The feast of Our Lady of Montallegro to whom Rapallo was dedicated, 1739, is observed during the first three days of July.
March 25, 1560
Title: Our Lady of the Good News Visionary: Gulvin (or Gudin), a young shepherd
A chapel commemorates an apparition to a young shepherd, called Gulvin (or Gudin). The shepherd heard the words:"In three days, you will be with me in heaven." Cures were authenticated, and a local pilgrimage was begun.
In 1672, a chapel was built under the name of "Our Lady of the Good News."
Title: Our Lady of Good Health Visionaries: A shepherd boy, Pondicherry - a crippled Tamil boy (12)
There are three major events associated with Our Lady of Good of Health in Vailankanni. The Virgin Mary is said by tradition to have appeared to a Tamil shephered boy named Krishnannesti Sankaranaranayamwho offered her child milk. She is subsequently said to have appeared to and healed a crippled boy selling buttermilk. A group of Portuguese sailors attribute being saved from a violent storm to her intercession. They constructed a larger chapel at their landing spot in Vailankanni. In gratitude for the miracles that took place, the chapel was replaced by the church, being elevated by Pope John XXIII in the basilica.
The feast is celebrated on September 8. 80,000 people including Hindus and Protestants will come each year, and recite the rosary with devotion. This is called the Lourdes shrine in India. Vailankami is now regarded as the Lourdes of India.
A painting of the Mother of God, which was hung outside the church of the Augustinian hermits, suddenly lit up in a bright heavenly light and a song and angelic harmony could be heard. When in 1550 the monastery was burned down, the painting remained miraculously intact. In 1621, a miraculous healing occured in front of this image of Virgin Mary and from that moment began the arrival of the pilgrims.
Visionary: St. John of God (1495 - 1550)
St. John of God, born in 1495 in Montemor in Portugal, was brought to Spain without having a name, so he was called " of God." Twenty-seven years he was a Christian soldier in the army against the Turks. The legend says that once he fell from his horse and saw Mary dressed as a simple peasant. She helped him and cured him of his injuries. With this event the ground work for hisfor his future conversion was laid and his full dedication to the apostolate of the sick. John lived then as a bookseller in Gibraltar and Granada.
Following a sermon of John of Avila, in 1539, he felt very moved and since then decided to devote the rest of his life to caring for the sick. He founded a hospital in Granada in 1540, practiced psychosomatic medicine and devoted himself to healing the physical illnesses of the soul and bringing relief to many patients. To better organize the work of healthcare, he founded the Secular Order of the Brothers of Mercy, which after his death became the Order of Brothers of St John of God's Mercy, who followed the rule of St. Augustine. Papal approval came in 1617. The planned work of the apostolate for the sick developed rapidly and bore much fruit. The Blessed Virgin Mary appeared again to St. John of God, just before his death, leading him to Paradise on the 18th of March 1550.
Visionary: Sebastian Baraddas
The Blessed Mary appeared repeatedly to Sebastian Baraddas and urged him to join the Order of Jesuits.
Visionary: Leonardo (insane farmer) Title: Mary the Holy Mother of Sorrows
Leonardo was a farmer who became insane for reasons unknown, which is why it was locked away. One day he escaped from the asylum and, while fleeing, Mary appeared to him and promised him a cure, provided that the costruct a chapel. Leonardo recovered after a while and began excavations for the foundation of the chapel and found a statue of Mary the Holy Mother of Sorrows. The statue was placed in the chapel when built, it became a miraculous image of grace, the object of worship in South Tyrol.
Feb 22, 1550
Castel San Pietro (Italy)
Title: Blessed Virgin of Poggio
Visionary: Antonia Beini
Sept 8, 1550
Title: Our Lady of the Kneeler
Visionary: Louise Estivalle
One Sunday, September 8th in around 1550, Louise Estivalle was on her way to mass in Azay-on-Thouet, France. She was the lady of the manor of Poupelinière and Leon de Lusivert's widow, remarried to Mr. Darrot in 1548. On her way, she met a beggar who asked her for some bread. She took pity on him, returned in haste to the castle to collect the necessary food, which she gladly gave to the beggar. Her errand had delayed her and she rushed off without further ado.
Then she was still two miles from the church, she heard the sound of the bells-it was already the time of the elevation. She knelt down piously and as she stood up she "saw the Virgin in a dim light" holding Jesus' inert body in her arms. "Look towards the church, my daughter. You will see from here the celebration of the Holy Mystery, as though you were actually present," she heard the Blessed Virgin say. Louise looked up and "saw an illuminated altar and a priest raising the consecrated host".
Later, Louise had a shrine built on the site of the apparition. Since the middle of the 16th century, believers have venerated the Virgin at this shine as "Our Lady of the Kneeler". Miracle cures have been claimed and on September 11, 1908, Pius X granted a 300-day indulgence to all those who visited the shrine. Still today, the feast day of September 8th attracts hundreds of believers.
Source: Excerpt from Father Laurentin’s Dictionnaire des Apparitions - Fayard 2006
April 17, 1555
Title: Blessed Virgin of the Miracles
Visionary: Cesare dello Stampino, Antonio della Torre and his brother Giovanni Angelo
Title: Our Lady of the Rosary of Chiquinquirá
(Image) Feast Day: July 9th
Alonso de Narvaez, a Spanish painter, did a portrait of the Virgin of the Rosary on a rustic cloth woven by Indians. To paint in tempera he used pigments taken from the soil and herb and flower juices of the region. Since the cloth was nearly square (forty-four inches high and fourty-nine inches wide), to fill in the space the artist added next to the Virgin the figures of St. Anthony of Padua and St. Andrew, apostle. These were the patron saints respectively of the Spanish colonist who had commissioned the painting and the monk who had ordered it.
In 1562 the portrait was placed in a chapel with a straw roof that leaked, and in a short time the humidity, air and sun, had so damaged the painting that it was impossible to recognize what it was. In 1577 the damaged painting was moved to Chiquinquirá and left abandoned in a room that had formerly been the family oratory. Eight years later, Maria Ramos, a pious woman from Seville, cleaned and straightened out the modest chapel and placed in it the faded canvas that had once had Mary's image. Tradition has it that the prodigy took place on Friday, December 26, 1586. The image which this woman had so desired to contemplate stood out again, having recovered its colors and brightness. The instantaneous process of restoration gradually closed the scratches and holes in the cloth, overlaying them with color and light.
The Virgin of the Rosary in the center of the painting is about a meter high; she is looking towards the left as if to call attention to the nearly naked Child in her arms. The image has a serene countenance with a delicate smile which radiates sweetness. Both her face and the Child's are light colored. The Child has a little brightly-colored bird tied to his thumb and a small rosary hangs from his left hand. Our Lady leans over a half moon in a position suggesting that she is about to start walking. A white toque covers her head and her rose colored robe is covered by a sky blue cape. With the little finger of her left hand she holds a rosary which hangs in front of her, and in her right hand she has a queenly scepter.
The painting still shows traces of its former damage; the figures seem vague, but at a distance they acquire relief and color.
For three hundred years the painting of the Virgin of the Rosary of Chiquinquirá was unprotected, and thousands of pious objects were touched annually against the frail cotton cloth, some times with rods or canes in order to reach it, which should have destroyed it. Since 1897 a thick glass protects the picture from severe weather conditions and the pilgrims' fervent excesses.
Pius VII declared Our Lady of Chiquinquirá patroness of Colombia and granted her her own liturgy. "La Chinita," as her people call her, was canonically crowned in 1915, and in 1927 her sanctuary was declared a Basilica.
Rosenau is located not far from a castle in the village of Krasna Horka ("The Beautiful Mountain"). The church of the castle is dedicated to the Mother of God and in it there is a painting of the Blessed Virgin Mary. During the wars of the Reformation, the painting was thrown into the fire three times in 1556 without reporting any burn. Since then, a devotion surrounds the portrait, especially since the castle became property of the Andrassy family. In 1791, the painting was placed in a precious golden frame. The chronicle of the time shows evidence of many healings and answered prayers before this image of the Madonna.
Title: Our Lady of Copacabana (statue) Feast Day: August 5
Where it is part of Bolivia, the peninsula of Copacabana penetrates Lake Titicaca near the islands of the Sun and Moon, sacred sites of the Incas. It is here, at 4800 meters above sea level, that devotion to the "Most Blessed Virgin de la Candelaria, Our Lady of Copacabana," originated.
The figure, made of plaster and fiber from the maguey tree, is completely covered with gold leaf, except for the face and hands; the garments reproduce the colors and dress of an Inca princess. The original shape is permanently hidden by rich robes and cloaks, and the carved hair has been covered by a wig. The image of the Virgin measures over four feet, and her soft expression - and that of the Child she holds as if it were about to fall - recall the features of the inhabitants of the region. The statue is the work of Francisco Tito Yupanqui, a descendant of the Inca Huayna Capac. The first efforts of this inexperienced sculptor were rejected, but finally his love and perseverance produced this image of the Virgin which was humbly enthroned in a poor adobe church on February 21, 1583, making it one of the oldest Marian sanctuaries in the Americas. The present temple dates from 1805, and the image was crowned during Pius XI's pontificate. Over the centuries the image was showered with valuable jewels and the church with treasures which were later looted by presidents, dictators and generals. Presently the image, which the quechua and aimara Indians call La Coyeta, has rich jewels on her neck, hands and ears, the gifts of her devotees. In her right hand she holds a straw basket and a baton, the gift and souvenir of the visit of the viceroy of Peru in 1669.
The original image never leaves the sanctuary, which became a basilica in 1949; a copy is used for processions. At first the feast of the beloved patroness was celebrated on February 2, [formerly] the Purification of Mary, and later it was transferred to August 5 with its own liturgy and great popular celebration.
Visionaries: The Fiamberti Sisters (Barbara, Camilla, Elizabeth, Catherine and Angela) Title: Queen of Angels
Five sisters named Barbara, Camilla, Elizabeth, Catherine and Angela, while reciting the rosary, saw the Virgin Mary surrounded by two angels who asked them to do penance, fasting, and to build a shrine on the cliff where she appeared. In 1884 the local bishop, after thorough analysis of a commission of inquiry, acknowledged the authenticity of the facts confirmed, later, also by the Congregation of Rites, who declared "venerable and miraculous" image of Our Lady of Arcola.
Apr 22, 1557
Title: Madonna of the Splendor
Visionary: Bertolino (farmer)
On April 22, 1557, around noon, a pious farmer, named Bertolino, tired for collecting firewood, resting in the shade of a leafy olive tree. Refreshed by the pleasant breeze coming from the sea up there, about to doze off when he sees between the branches of a dazzling light and in the center, the Virgin Mary, who tells him: "Come on, Bertolino, is' in Giulianova and brings the beautiful news that the Great Mother of God has chosen his home here. Warns the clergy who is a solemn procession to honor and here, where now you see me, you have built a sanctuary. " Stunned for the thrill, but proud for the assignment, Bertolino runs by the Governor of the city to tell him the message of Our Lady. But, as expected, both the Governor that some of the notables present, have a great time listening to the strange story, and when the farmer begins to insist that they follow him on the site of, the hunt in a bad way, and consider him a visionary. Quite miserable for the poor reception received, Bertolino he returns home, and the next day, early in the morning, he went again at the olive tree with the hope of seeing the bright image of the Virgin and to be able to trust all its bitterness. The Apparition back! With my heart in my throat, running along the last stretch of the climb, feels humiliated and offended, not because of the injuries received, but rather the failure of the mission played by Madonna. Come close to the tree, the Madonna is there waiting for him. Encourages and exhorts him to return by the Governor, but also the second embassy had greater success than the first. On the third day, Bertolino back in that place now so dear to him. He kneels down and waits to return the Apparition. The Virgin returns: gently and firmly encourages him to demonstrate to the Governor that what he says is true. Without hesitation, Bertolino returns to town. With courage, for the third time, relates how the Virgin commanded him, and insists that they all go up with him up the hill to check the veracity of his story. But this time the injuries plus the beatings. To better put him to trial, the present resort to violence. The miraculous spring Bertolino, from mild temperament, would have been overwhelmed if Madonna had not intervened to free him! Suddenly, who beats him with his arm remains paralyzed and mute. In the hall hangs a heavy silence! Everyone understands to be witnesses of a supernatural and each, in his heart, he asks forgiveness for the offenses committed against the poor Bertolino. The Governor shall convene the frightened pastor, the Canons, and all, in solemn procession, come at the place determined by Bertolino who, with hearts full of joy, leads the procession to the duke's palace miraculous place. All, trasecolati admire the vision, clear and distinct, the Virgin Mary, shining between radiance of dazzling light. And a great new gift store for them the Madonna, as tangible proof of the extraordinary and lasting event, at the foot of the olive is overflowing with a source of pure, fresh water, which still continues to the relief of many sick! The first miracle is the very man who has beaten Bertolino and made fun of him. Sincerely repented, regaining the word and the use of the arm. The news of the apparition spreads like wildfire and the place attracts a multitude of people to write down with water from the source to invoke mercy, protection and comfort.
July 2, 1557
- OR -
Visionary: Giovanni Chichizola (peasant) Title: Our Lady of Rapallo
The Virgin Mary, wrapped in a heavenly light and with a garment woven of beautiful roses, appeared to a peasant named John Chichizola, old farmer of Montallegro, Genoa, leaving behind a Greek-Byzantine icon and asking for the construction of a church saying, "I am Mary, the Mother of God. Tell everyone I want to be honored in this place and I'll let my little image fly by angels from Greece as a pledge of predilection. Fast on Saturday."
John could not move the picture and left it on the mountain. On the way back, with some priests and faithful to see the picture they found a spring flowed where they had placed the feet of Mary. The priests took the picture in the Church, but he disappeared and was again found in the place of the apparition. This happened three times, and eventually left her permanently on the mountain. In December 1574 a ship from Ragusa, the current Dubrovnick, Dalmatia, docked in the port due to a violent storm. The captain and the sailors went to the shrine to thank the Virgin for saving them from the wreckage and were amazed to see the image as it was the same mysteriously disappeared from their land 17 years earlier. After many negotiations were able to take her away, but during the first night of navigation, the image disappeared and reappeared from the ship on the mountain.
The Archbishop of Genoa ascertained the authenticity of the facts and on August 6, 1558, authorized the construction of the church and in July 1559 the sanctuary was opened for worship.
The miraculous effigy, given by Our Lady to Rapallo in 1557, is set in a lovely pavilion silver and a bar of wood 18 cm by 13, which depicts the Dormition of the Virgin, Death and Assumption of the Virgin the sky. Below is represented the Virgin Mary dead, dressed in a dark robe and lying on a bed covered with a red cloth, and around, the apostles in prayer. Against the sky, there is the Holy Trinity, depicted as three distinct Persons, but together, almost joined to become one, and in the hands of the Holy Trinity where the Blessed Virgin Mary is located.
The Holy Father Benedict XVI on the occasion of the 450th anniversary of the Apparition sent a letter to Mons. ALBERTO TANASINI, Bishop of Chiavari.
Title: Madonna of the Splendor
Title: Our Lady of Guanajuato
The statue of the Our Lady of Guanajuato there was given to residents of then-New Spain in the mid 1500s by Spain's King Phillip II. Historic accounts report that the statue, originally in Granada, Spain, was hidden in a damp cave when the Moors invaded Spain in the early 700s. It remained there for more than 850 years without suffering any damage or deterioration -- and has been the image of the Patroness of Guanajuato for more than 450 years. Our Lady of Guanajuato has been credited with numerous miracles since arriving in central Mexico in the 16th century.
July 1, 1558
Visionary: Two shepherds Title: Madonna of Splendor
On July 2, 1558, two girls of the village who were grazing their flocks in the woods and meadows of the valley overlooking the village of Gerosa, after spending the whole day to look after the sheep, the evening feel burning thirst but do not have access to water and can not leave their flock. They decide to kneel down and pray, and it is at this point that the Blessed Virgin appeared to them. She shakes their hands, comforted by his "heavenly smile," indicates a vein of pure water begins to flow beneath them and invites them to drink. Then she ordered them to announce to the villagers Her will: that they erect the church at that place. A proof of her appearance invites the girls to show all the spring, then leave of them announcing that within eight days would come back to pick them up and take them with you in heaven. The people of Gerosa haste to see the spring, and immediately gave it ago do to build the first chapel on the spot indicated by the appearance. Arose in time a great shrine dedicated to the Virgin Mary under the title of "Our Lady of foppa." At first appearance it follows, less than fifty years later, a second, just in 1630, the year that was spreading the plague brought by Lanzichenecchi. As in all of Lombardy, the epidemic is spreading also in the Valley Brembilla. The Virgin Mary appears in a dream to another girl named Diana Locatelli, who lives in the village Bura and tells the girl to make the announcement that those who would go to honor her in her new Sanctuary of Foppa, would not have been infected by the disease.
The cult of the Madonna della Foppa, was approved by the bishop of Bergamo, Bishop Luigi Speranza that, in a pastoral letter of April 18, 1866 asked for news of "those places where they occurred or miracles or apparitions of the Blessed Virgin, or are in a particular no worship or church or chapel or image of the Virgin Mary, that in the shortest possible space of time we transmit certified copies of all documents, notes and memoirs written and printed concerning the apparitions, miracles, the worship of B.Vergine, which they were in their archives, and in those respective vestry and they were hanging on the walls, or noted on the books of the sacristy, or you serbassero in some people. "
Visionary: Giacomo Ledesma, SJ (1519 - 1557)
Giacomo Ledesma was born in 1519 in Cuellar (Spain) studied in some universities and entered the Jesuit Order in 1557. He taught until his death in 1575, theology at the Collegium Romanum in Rome. When Giacomo went into strong temptation, he spoke in fervent prayer to Mary, who appeared together with St. Mary Magdalene, St. Catherine of Alexandria and St. Catherine of Siena. Our Lady promised her special protection so that he could maintain his purity and preserve it until the time of death in the heavenly world.
Visionary: Gonzales da Liveira, SJ (b. 1526)
The Jesuit priest , born in 1526 in around Lisbon Almeiria, was wanting to establish a mission in Rhodesia, so he went to a Muslim Emperor Monomotapa and gave him a token of friendship, a portrait of the Madonna. The emperor accepted the portrait, and for five consecutive nights sky was illuminated by the appearance of the Queen Heaven. So the emperor decided to be baptized and left the mission in his country. Fr. Líveira was assassinated by Muslim extremists on March 15.
Visionary: a workman Title: Our Lady of the Font
Our Lady appeared to a workman in despair who wanted to take his own life, and she pointed to the place where a wooden statue was hidden. The worker in fact found the statue carved in wood, representing the Mother of God, next to a fig tree near a spring. The discovery changed this man's life and a healing spring of water was revealed. The Holy Virgin is venerated in the place as "Our Lady of the Font"
The portrait of the Madonna, which was located in the church of Adlwang in Austria during the wars of the Reformation, was snatched from her seat and was believed by Protestants destroyed. Much later, the portrait was found by a mysterious blue light that passed through the side window of the Gothic church. In fact, the picture of Mary, believed to be destroyed, was left under a big anthill on the floor of the church. The ants left the church only when the painting was restored and put back on the wall.
Source: Hierzenberger, 1993, 132
El Viejo (Nicaragua)
Title: Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception of El Viejo (statue brought by Fray Pedro de Zepeda y Ahumada, brother of Teresa of Avila)
Feast Day: December 8
The small village of "El Viejo" clustered around a Franciscan mission of the early colonial period, is very near the Pacific coast. The Sanctuary of Our Lady under the title of the Immaculate Conception of El Viejo, is located in this village of far western Nicaragua. Although there is no historic evidence of it, it is said that the image, which has been venerated there since the sixteenth century, was brought to America by a relative of St. Therese of Avila, whose last name was Cepeda. Some have even maintained that it was the saint's brother, Rodrigo de Cepeda Ahumada, but there is no proof of this.
Tradition holds that St. Therese of Jesus gave this image to her relative, who took it with him everywhere. He arrived with it in Central America, landing at "Realejo," which was then the most important port of Nicaragua. Soon he moved to the Franciscan mission in search of a healthier climate. A room in his house became an oratory, where the neighbors went attracted by the beautiful expression of the Immaculate Virgin's face. When Cepeda received orders to transfer to Peru, he tried to take the image of the Immaculata with him, but the move kept getting postponed time and time again because of bad weather; until he realized it was God's will that he give up his beloved image and leave it among the people who had learned to love her so quickly. The Virgin remained forever in Nicaragua.
The image of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception of El Viejo is a handsome woodcarving measuring approximately thirty-three inches. She is, dressed in beautiful robes which are changed often. Her sweet face is dark colored, and she is looking down modestly. Her hands are folded on her breast as if interceding for her children. The carving is kept in a silver reliquary which safeguards her and is usually veiled by a curtain that is opened when the faithful gather to venerate her.
There is a unique feature of the devotion to Our Lady of El Viejo: the sanctuary has a valuable collection of silver objects of different kinds, given to the image in gratitude for favors received. Each year, on December 6, these objects are taken out to the public plaza where the people congregate to clean and polish all the silver pieces; this is an annual event and not a single valuable article of the Virgin's treasure has ever been lost. This popular ceremony is known as "The Washing of the Silver."
For Nicaraguans, devotion to the Immaculate Conception is something cherished and deeply rooted. The traditional image of the Immaculate is always present in Catholic homes and churches, and the December 8 feast is a national event. On the eve of December 8, the famous Griterla (shouting) takes place. The families put up splendid altars in the homes that can be seen from outside. The people look inside shouting: "Who is the cause of our joy?" and the residents of the house respond, "Mary's Conception," then the visitors are treated to sweets and typical foods. It is the occasion for great festivities nationwide, with music, singing and dancing while waiting for the coming of the feast day of the patroness of the people of Nicaragua.
Visionary: St. Teresa of Avila (1515-1582)
"St. Teresa the Great ", also known as Teresa of Jesus, was one of the great mystics and reformers of the Carmelites. She entered the Carmel of the Incarnation in Avila in 1535, where she remained for thirty years, and had many visions and appearances, among them numerous apparitions of Mary. Since 1454 her life was maturing mystically and in 1556 celebrated her engagement in a spiritual vision with Jesus Christ and experienced the highest mystical graces. In 1560, she received the grace of the transformation of her heart, she experienced a vision of hell and the same year he began to write her autobiography. In 1562, she led the reform of the Order and founded the first convent of Carmelite nuns at Avila. She was accompanied by famous theologians and saints, but also had to suffer much opposition. In 1568, the first reform was carried out on men's convents. When Theresa died, she founded seventeen convents female and two male. The Spanish mystic, was beatified in 1614 and canonized in 1622. She was elevatedon September 27, 1970 by Pope Paul VI as a Doctor of the Church, the first woman, along with Catherine of Siena, to receive this title. For the love of God, Teresa had led two lives, one in which he had tried to be like all her companions, the other in which, in complete solitude, she was left to absorb the mystical union.
May 31, 1562
June 26 , 1562
Visionary: Domenica di Miglianotto
Title: Blessed Virgin of Potente del Trompone
Visionary: St. Peter of Alcantara (1499-1562)
St. Peter of Alcantara (1499-1562) was a Franciscan who lived in several monasteries in Spain. Since1540, he undertook a major reform plan, designing to bring the Franciscan Order back to its roots. Although he was met with much resistance on this path, a Brief of Pope Paul IV approved the reform. From 1556, he became provincial of the Spanish reformed convents, under the patronage of the Province of St. Joseph, and received permission to build new convents in Spain and worldwide. Through the charisma of his high mystical graces, the persuasive power of his preaching, and example of his severe life, he led a life of prayer and atonement. Peter had a great influence on his brethren and the faithful, but also the nobility and the government of his country. St. Teresa of Avila praised the mystical qualities of Peter of Alcantara. His book on contemplative prayer is well known and his aspiration to perfect prayer and meditation. Shortly before his death the Mother of God appeared to him and forewarned of his death. He was beatified in 1622 and canonized in 1669.
Visionary: Saint Paschalis Baylon (1540-1592)
Holy Mary appeared to Saint Paschalis Baylon, accompanied by St. Francis and St. Clare, as she wanted him to build a chapel. The Madonna and two saints urged him to join the Order of the Friars. He came into this Order and served in several monasteries in the kitchen, and as a janitor. Paschalis was a great model of humility, chastity, and followed strict practices to make up for his sins. He had significant mystical experiences. In 1618 he was beatified and canonized in 1690. In 1897 he was declared patron of the sacramental brotherhood.
Forli, Emilia Romagna (Italy); Pistoia (Tuscany)
Visionary: Jerome, a Capuchin Friar
Mary appeared several times in Pistoia, to the Capuchin monk Jerome. In one of these apparitions of the Virgin, she appeared full of light and predicted the day and the hour of his death. In fact, the next Sunday, he died as Our Lady had predicted, while the bells were ringing the Angelus. Another time, during an apostolic mission in the evening, he was lost wandering the streets and sought the help of the Mother of God. Soon they saw a light in the distance. They ran to the place where the light had appeared, and found a simple home, where they were hospitably received by an elderly man, a young woman and a child. When the two monks woke up the next morning, they found themselves in open countryside near a road known. Then they understood well that Mary had heard their prayers and thanked God, offering prayers of praise.
Visionary: St. Stanislaus Kostka (1550-1568)
St. Stanislaus Kostka, born October 28, 1550 at Rostkow (Poland), he entered the Jesuit college in Vienna, when the college was closed, he lived with his brother privately. Here he fell ill seriously and was miraculously cured by Mary. The Holy Virgin told him that his hour had not yet come and that he should devote himself to the Society of Jesus. Stanislaus went to Augusta and then to Dillingen, where he met Peter Canisius, who introduced him to Francisco de Borja, Vicar General of the Order. In 1567, he was received in Rome as a novice. He managed to ordained priests, but the strain and his previous illness led to his death.
He left the world on Ascension Day, comforted by the Blessed Virgin Mary. In 1670, he was beatified and then canonized by Benedict XIII in 1726 together with Aloysius Gonzaga. He is the patron saint of Poland, the young scholars and the dying.
Visionary: Giuliano di Camerino (a friar)
Giuliano di Camerino shortly before his death saw the Heavenly Mother in the convent of Amendola. He made his vision of the Queen of Heaven known to all the friars of the convent.
Ancona (Marche, Italy)
Visionary: A young Cappuccin novice
A young Cappuccin novice was morally oppressed by impure temptations to sin and demonic visions, then the Holy Virgin Mary appeared to him and brought him peace in his soul.
Visionary: Alexander of Butrium (a Capuchin friar )
The Capuchin friar Alexander of Butrium prayed fervently Mary to protect him from his grave temptations. After his sincere prayer, the Mother of God with the crown of victory crowned the brother by hand. After that, he was immune to the temptations.
Visionaries: Thomas Mathinicz and two Calvinists
The Calvinists had taken over the Catholic shrine of Máriagyüd (founded 1148). Thomas Mathinicz saw the Mother of God in a window of the church who told him: "Why am I not freed from my prison?" Later, also two Calvinists saw Mary appear on the portal of the church. When this phenomenon was reported back to Leopold I, he immediately gave the order to return the church to the Catholics.
Visionary: Alonso Rodriguez, SJ (1538-1616)
The Jesuit Alonso Rodriguez, professor of moral theology and master of novices in Seville, spoke with the Blessed Virgin Mary as a child with his mother. He was always grateful to have been inspired and enlightened in his ascetic writings and mystical experiences.
Visionary: Martin Gutierrez, SJ (+1573)
Jesuit Father Martin Gutierrez was a fervent faithful to the cult of Holy Virgin Mary. She gave good advice for his work as a cure of souls. Once the priest saw the Blessed Mother in Heaven dressed in large snow-white coat, under which protected all the members of the Society of Jesus. In the year 1573 when he went to Rome from Spain, during the trip, we stopped to visit a chapel of Mary in the countryside of Languedoc. Here he learned from the Holy Virgin that he would be called to martyrdom. In fact, the same week of the vision, Father Martin was killed by the enemies of the holy Catholic faith.
April 7, 1569
Tauste, Zaragoza, Spain
Title: Nuestra Señora de Sancho Abarca
Title: Virgen de la Paz
Around 1570, the story goes, a woman with distinctive features and a youthful glow began coming from the mountains in the afternoon to buy candles at a market in the Carmona district of Trujillo in western Venezuela. When some curious men asked her why she walked alone, she answered, "Not alone, but with God, the sun, and the stars." "Where are you from?" "From nearby." "How do you cross the full ravine, and who helps you?" "My sons, don't forget that I go with God, my protector." One day some townsfolk followed her and saw her disappear into a cleft in the rock. Then people noticed the rock sparkling and shining, and decided that the mysterious maiden was not someone from the community, but the Virgin Mary. The Virgin's Rock became a place of legend and devotion. Some said that it was the source of three rivers - one of water, one of blood, and one of milk - that the Holy Virgin held back from sweeping away the town. To this day, large numbers of pilgrims gather at the cueva, cave, to place votive offerings, recite rosaries, and sing hymns in thanks for favors granted, especially around the feast of Our Lady of Peace on January 24. On December 21, 1983, the President of Venezuela, Luis Herrera Campins, dedicated a monumental statue of the Virgin of Peace on the rock above the cave. Designed by architect Manuel de la Fuente, of concrete on a steel frame, the monument weighs 1,323 tons and stands 154 feet high, slightly taller than the Statue of Liberty. The Virgin extends one hand and holds a dove in the other. Visitors can go inside and ascend to five lookouts that survey nearly the entire state of Trujillo. In Trujillo Cathedral is a much older devotional statue of Our Lady of Peace, patron of Trujillo city and state. Information from es.wikipedia.org and other sources.
Title: Nuestra Senora De Guia (Our Lady of Guidance) - Miraculous statue Visionary: sailors
Feast day: January 10
One of the sailors to land on the island of Luzon in 1570, while walking in the woods near the native settlement of Manila, came upon a religious ceremony held by the Natives. They were honoring an image of the Mother of God, a statue on a rough pedestal. The natives told the Spanish that the statue had the power to make their petitions come true, and indeed, miracles were performed. Since nothing of the origin could be learned, the sailors determined to name the statue by some “Lady Title”; the lot fell upon “Our Lady of Guidance”; everyone agreed she had guided them on their dangerous journey.
The statue of Our Lady of Guidance was canonically crowned in the year 1955 by the Papal Nuncio to the Philippine Islands
Aug 15, 1572
Title: Holy Mary of the Bridge
Visionary: A deaf mute girl
Jun 9, 1573
Monsummano Terme (Italy)
Title: Most Holy Mary of Fontenuova
Visionary: Jacopina Mariotti
In the area where now stands the church, in 500 there were only swamps, forests and meadows, an area used only by shepherds slopes of Monsummano Alto for their flocks, with streets that wind their way through marshes and grassy fields that do not appear promote the formation of nuclei of dwellings. But what nature seems to deny flows from a sudden and unexpected intervention of Our Lady. On June 9, 1573, in fact, Jacopina Mariotti, a shepherdess sweet and mild, as well as pious, simple and modest, pray in front of one of the many pictures painted in fresco on the wall, that dot the streets of the plan. After the prayer, you realize you have lost the flock. Her crying apparently had moved the Virgin Mary who, according to a documented tradition, appearing to, the shows where to find him. In addition, the order to go to the rector of the church of the Castle to suggest, in his name, to build a church in the place of its manifestation. After this begins the first movement of popular devotion to Our Lady of the Plan, which will gradually growing more and more. At a distance of just two months after the first event, local authorities, interpreting the will of the people, decided to build a Tabernacle to Our Lady of the Plan and allocate for this purpose the many offers of pilgrims from all over the Valdinievole spill on the site of . Another appearance, this time more crucial and decisive for the erection of the Shrine and the Marian movement resulting therefrom, occurred June 10, 1602 and is witnessed by the Rector of Monsummano Alto Simone Casciani. Also on July 7 of the same year, during the celebration of the Mass flows sudden, after a long drought, a source nova event attributed by the people to the intercession of Our Lady of the Plan long as all invoked. From that day the Madonna del Piano will be called: Our Lady of Fontenova. The explosion of devotion to Mary, already significant after the events of 9 June 1573, it becomes uncontrollable after the events of July 7, 1602, requiring the intervention of the Grand Duke of Tuscany, Ferdinando I de 'Medici. Intervention for the same is ordered that appaltino work del'erigendo Marian Shrine, whose first stone was laid 30 December 1602. On 13 February 1607 the Grand Duke of Tuscany approves the project for the construction of the Osteria of pilgrims at the service of the sanctuary. The June 8, 1608 Cosimo de 'Medici in fulfillment of a vow made by his father Ferdinand gives the sanctuary a crown precious, finely crafted and carved, by the "jeweler Gallery" Cosimo Latinos experts is considered the best and most meaningful example of the art of the period chisel Tuscan Grand Duchy. This crown will be placed on the head of the Virgin Mary by the Vatican Chapter in 1782.
Title: Our Lady of the Capuchins
Visionaries: The Virgin Mary appears to 4000 persons
Visionary: Pacifico, a Capuchin Friar
At the feast of the Immaculate Conception, the Capuchin monk Pacifico, who was in the church choir, saw the Blessed Virgin Mary who revealed the mystery of the Immaculate Conception. When Our Lady disappeared, the church was inundated by a beautiful and sweet scent of roses that was sensed by all the friars.
Visionary: Alessandro Muzio Title: Our Lady of Miracles (Madonna dei Miracoli)
June 7, 1578
VISORA DI CONFLENTI (Italy)
Title: Madonna della Quercia ("Madonna of the Oak") Visionary: Lorenzo Folino, Vermiglia Mercuri, Delicia Mastroianni and others
The Virgin appeared for the first time a shepherd who, in the sheep, was attracted by a sweet melody from a slope called Serra Campanaro. He saw a stately lady who, from the top of an oak, he said, "Go son, the mayor and the priest, and tells them what you saw. Tell them that I am the Mother of God and that you want to build a church in the place that I can show you, "pointing to a bottom of said Visora??. The boy told the incident but was not believed. On June 14 the same year, in the same locality, an old peasant woman had the same vision and was given the same message. On June 24, the most famous apparitions happened to the blind and lame from birth who, miraculously, got a cure. Back in the country began to knock on doors of homes of friends telling asleep watching and called it a miracle. Then there were other views in the locality of Visora. The place was now a place of pilgrimage, and there arose votive icons, in one of them was a large stone in the shape of a foot referred to as "The Lady of the Tread." In 1862 they built the church but on the evening of July 21, 1921 it was destroyed by fire. In 1958, the shrine was rebuilt in the same place as it is today. Our Lady of Visora is venerated with the title of "Madonna della Quercia".
Poggio di Roio (Italy)
Title: Holy Mary of the Cross Visionary: Felice Calcagro
Visionary: Giacomo, a Capuchin monk
The Capuchin monk Giacomo had an apparition of the Blessed Virgin Mary, occurring shortly before his passing into eternity. The friars who were around his bed said: "You see! You see! The Triumphant Queen of Heaven is here! She is coming to get me." Then he turned to the Madonna, he said with emotion: "O Most Glorious and Most Pure Virgin Mary, as you are good to come to me and comfort me with your visit! ".
Visionary: Fr. Didacus Mendoza, Jesuit
The Virgin appeared to Fr. Didacus Mendoza, Jesuit, shortly before his death, and comforted him.
1989, 61 and Gamba, 1999, 339.
July 8, 1579
Title: Our Lady of Kazan Visionary: Matrona (8)
According to local tradition a girl in 1579 had a vision of Mary. The Holy Virgin informed her of the existence of an ancient icon buried under the rubble of a burning house. In fact, following the directions of Mary, the icon was miraculously found intact and shining brightly colored. It was copied and spread.
Visionaries:Two Capuchin Friars
Two Capuchin friars were surprised by a terrible storm on the way to Larino Trivento. They turned to Mary and immediately, by the light of lightning, thought they saw a house in the woods. Immediately they went and were welcomed by a mother and loving Lady, of an indescribable beauty. The two brothers were really surprised and touched by such beauty. The next day, after having taken leave left the house and went away. When they looked back turned, they saw nothing, then realized that Mary herself had hosted them in the house of her sweet heart.
Visionary: Ambrosio of Zironi, later a Capuchin
Mary appeared repeatedly to Ambrosio of Zironi , as the "Blessed Mother of God", and advised him to enter the Capuchin Order. In fact, he entered the Order and was forever the gift of the certainty of his spiritual mission.
July 16, 1580
Visionary: Giategen Dietegen (18 - shepherdess)
Mary appeared to a girl eighteen gathering firewood and said, "Go to the people of Oberhalbstein tell them that the Lord can not stand it much longer. People should try to improve and become more devout and good, otherwise they must expect the punishment of God, the crops will dry up and people die! I can no longer direct the mercy of my Son for these corrupt people. " Mary appeared during the following two days, and urged the seer to spread the news of this apparition more and more.
The governor of the region after having analyzed it thoroughly was convinced, then appealed to the people for the practice of penance for half of the processions. A shrine was erected at the place where Mary had appeared, which was later entrusted to the Capuchins. Every Sunday during July, August and September of each year was dedicated to pilgrimage.
Visionary: Father Henry Calstro, OP
The Dominican Father Henry Calstro, as we learn from his biographers, had many visions and encounters with Mary, who protected him from many temptations and guided him along the path of spiritual development. Often the Virgin consoled him in the difficulties found against mailicious and ignorant men . Even at the onset of his death, she appeared to him and made him strong in the face of death.
June 30, 1582
Bopfingen, FLOCHBERG (GERMANY)
Visionary: William Wintzerer (10)
Holy Mary appeared to a very sick boy of ten years, William Wintzerer. He had gone in despair to the edge of a field on one night and had prayed with great fervor to the Blessed Virgin to kill him if he had to continue to suffer in that way. After some hours of this intense prayer prostrate in the chill of the night, the Mother of God appeared in a luminous glow and said: "My son, get up! You will be helped. You'll never be plagued by this disease. Dedicate yourself to the Devout Life: Please, call upon God, he attended Mass regularly, diligently go to church and make pilgrimages. "
The Holy Virgin said this and disappeared and the boy recovered and returned often in prayer to the edge of the cornfield where she had first appeared. William made a pilgrimage to Unterkochen, near the town of Aalen. The apparition received by the boy was believed by the people and in the middle of the eighteenth century, a shrine was erected in this place.
Source: Laurentin, Dictionary of Marian Apparitions (2010) p 126; Gamba, 1999, 342 and Hierzenberger, 1993, 138
Visionary: Fr. Michel Le Nobletz (1577-1652)
The life of a priest Michel Le Nobletz (1577-1652) had a great Marian devotion as a child. Michel saw Mary for the first time as a baby. Like a beautiful lady wrapped in a bright light and heavenly. The Lady made? a sign to follow her and led him to a nearby chapel, opening the closed doors . As a student, Michel was led by the Holy Virgin, who inspired him to the priesthood as a missionary could experience more inspiration and the consolations of the Mother of God. Finally, at the end of his life, she was at his side, preparing him for death. Le Nobletz developed new forms of catechesis: he worked with colorful picture cards, songs, melodies and developed an innovative method for the indoctrination of lay catechists.
Visionary: Saint Mary Magdalene de'Pazzi
Saint Mary Magdalene de'Pazzi joined the Discalced Carmelites at Santa Maria degli Angeli in Florence. While seriously ill, a series of mystical experiences of a rare intensity began: the "Forty Days", lasting until July 5, 1584. These ecstasies lasted from two to three hours during which time she was able to speak. She received the stigmata, various visions, moral and physical participation in the Passion of Christ, revelations centered on Christ suffering, etc.
Her visions of the Virgin are diverse and rich on both theological and symbolical levels. "It seemed like I could see the Blessed Virgin in Paradise seated on the right-hand side of Jesus; I thought I could hear her say to me while smiling: "You do not take account of the gift that you received the day when you took the veil." This gift from Jesus was the Blessed Virgin's purity. Mary looked so beautiful that my words cannot explain her to you." (...)
"I saw two fountains spouting forth from the Virgin Mary's womb, one of milk and the other of blood. The milk was spread on all the blessed souls of Paradise. (...) The blood was spread on all mankind." (...) "I also heard the Virgin pronounce this verse: "My heart is stirred by a noble theme; I address my poem to the King" (Ps 45:1). The word coming from her mouth was Jesus, to whom she gave birth in this world for us. And the Virgin was speaking to the King, i.e. to our Heavenly Father. Then I saw an immense fountain, spouting sprays of water, spreading them everywhere in the world and sending forth torrents of grace."
Saint Mary Magdalene is depicted in art as a Carmelite with the Instruments of the Passion kneeling before the Holy Trinity. Christ crowns her with thorns, the Virgin gives her roses. She may also be shown receiving the Blessed Sacrament from Jesus; receiving a white veil from the Virgin Mary; being presented to or receiving a ring from Jesus; crowned with thorns and embracing a cross, with rays falling on her from a monstrance; or with flames issuing from her breast.
Source: The Forty Days, #64-65 and #139
The Dictionary of Marian Apparitions. Laurentin 2007
Janary 7, 1588
COSTA DI FOLGARIA (Italy)
Visionary: Pietro dal Dosso Title: Our Lady of Grace in Costa Folgaria (Trento)
The Shrine of Our Lady of Grace at Costa Folgaria, Trento. . It is located at an altitude of 1230 meters. In January, 1588, Our Lady appeared to a monaco, by Dosso Peter, asking him to build a church in that place. For centuries, the shrine was one of the most important Marian of Trentino. In 1955 Pope Pius XII proclaimed Our Lady of Grace Costa, "distinguished patron and principal of all skiers of Italy." Feast Day on January 7
Title: Santa Maria al Giglio, (St. Mary at the Lily) Visionaries: several people
Title: Our Lady of Quinche
(statue carved by Don Diego de Robles)
Our Lady of the Presentation of Quinche is a handsome wood sculpture carved in the sixteenth century by Don Diego de Robles, an extraordinary artist who is also credited with other popular and venerated images of Mary. History tells us that those who had ordered the image couldn't or wouldn't pay the sculptor for it, and he traded it to the oyacachi Indians for some large cedar boards he needed.
At a later time, popular fancy enriched the facts with the legend that the Virgin had appeared earlier to the Indians in a cave and had promised to deliver them from the dangerous bears which devoured the children.
The Indian chiefs were astonished when they saw Diego Robles arrive carrying the image of the Virgin, whom they recognized as having the same features as the Lady who had appeared to them in the cave and had spoken to them.
The statue remained under the care of the Indians fifteen years, when the bishop of the place ordered it moved to the village of Quinche from which it finally took its name in 1604.
The image is a fine carving in cedarwood, measuring sixty-two centimeters in height. The handsome sculpture is hidden by large brocade garments, covered with jewels and embroidered with gold and silver threads, which only allow the serene dark face to be seen. The Virgin holds a scepter in her right hand and with the left hand she holds the Child, who lifts a hand in blessing and in the other hand displays a gold globe crowned with a cross.
The pedestal at her feet and the large half moon, both of pure silver, and the heavy crowns made of gold and precious stones which adorn the heads of Jesus and Mary, evidence the generosity of the people of Ecuador who like to see their patroness resplendent, dressed with the best finery.
The face of the Child Jesus has features resembling those of the mestizo children of those mountains. Mestizo is also the color of the mother, synthesis of the Inca and Spanish souls. She has a delicate oval face with a slender nose, thin lips and a small mouth; her slanted eyes and her sad gaze with half closed eyelids give her a unique gentleness. This is why she is so popular in Ecuador, specially among the Indians who affectionately refer to their protector in heaven as "La Pequehita" (the little one).
There are an amazing number of songs in honor of the Virgin of Quinche, in "Quechua," "Jibaro," and many other dialects of the region as well as in Spanish; many have been sung for three hundred and even four hundred years.
The image was crowned in 1943 and her feast is celebrated each year on November 21. The present shrine was declared a National Sanctuary in 1985.
Saint Aloisius Gonzaga, on the day of the Assumption of Mary, was absorbed in prayer before a painting of the Virgin in the church of Jesus in Madrid. Suddenly, while he was in contemplation, he heard clearly the voice of Our Lady who told him: "Come into the Order entitled to my Son." Aloisius heard the desire of Mary, and entered the Jesuit Order. He was born in Castiglione, near Mantua, was the eldest son of the Marquis Ferrante and was a page at the court of Florence, where she made a vow of chastity in 1578. Later he was in the court of King Philip II (1581-1583) in Madrid and was appreciated for his qualities of seriousness of life, true devotion and purity. After a long-standing opposition to the will of his father, his father finally had to surrender and granted him permission in 1585 to join the Order. Aloisius was educated in Rome and remained for some time under the spiritual guidance of Robert Bellarmine (later also canonized). During the outbreak of plague in Rome, he took care of the sick and those plagued by evil spirits and died just twenty-four years. In 1605, he was beatified and canonized in 1726 along with Stanislaus Kostka. In 1729, he was elevated to the patron saint of young students.
Title: Our Lady of Chiquinquirra (Image)
This place of pilgrimage is still very active. The origin of this popular pilgrimage back to the following tradition: an unknown artist, moved with compassion for a farmer who urged him to paint a portrait of the Madonna, drew a wonderful portrait of Mary. After a while the colors are faded and the icon was placed in the attic from the peasant. A woman accidentally saw it and took it to hang on a wall of his house. Come Christmas time, the icon began to shine a wonderful light and colors became more alive to radiating freshness and radiance. Still remain the same.
Visionaries: Angolan army
Portuguese army won a battle against the Angolans, who encountered an army far more numerous and powerful. Afterwards, it was rumored that the victory of the Portuguese army was due to the intervention of the Madonna. The Angolans saw a beautiful lady, accompanied by another old woman, and both were holding flaming swords. From this appearance, the Angolans were so in awe that they left the battlefield.
Visionary: a young artist
In the Jesuit college of Cologne a young artist painted the SS liked to reproduce. Virgin Mary and then put these pictures into precious frames. One day he fell seriously ill and dying first saw Mary close to him who, with his guardian angel, had come to accompany him in the heavenly homeland.
July 12, 1586
Title: Blessed Virgin of the Fields Visionaries: Bartolomea Ducaneli (10) and Dorotea Battistoni(11)
On 12 July 1586, the Virgin Mary appeared to Bartolomea Bucanelli of 10 years and Dorotea Battistoni 11, next to a chapel of the thirteenth century, not far from Stezzano, now the diocese of Bergamo. The visual appearance of the apparition, as reported by the children, it is surprising: it is of a woman dressed in black, with a white veil that fell on his back, reading a small book in his hand. A few months later, a fresco of the Virgin and Child, the water oozes up to flood the floor. The bishop, informed, decides to investigate the facts and recognize the supernatural origin of the events. In 1600 was inaugurated the sanctuary.
Visionary: St. Felix of Cantalice (1515-1587)
St. Felix of Canterbury, a Capuchin layman for forty years gathered alms for his convent. He was known in Rome as the friar, "Deo gratias." He was bound in close friendship with Philip Neri and Charles Borromeo. The monk received the gift of the apparitions of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Child Jesus. Sometimes Mary gave him her Son in his arms, and this was especially so during his illness that led him to death May 18, 1587. Mary and Jesus gave him a great comfort.
Visionary: St. Philip Neri (1515-1595)
"The will of God is that you walk in the world like a desert." These words, whispered the inner voice during a quiet night, changed the life of young St. Philip Neri. He was also called the "Saint of Joy ', and developed a great devotion to the Virgin Mary. Neri grew up in Florence and Philip founded the Oratory and the Oratorians. The future saint suffered in his youth the influence of the Dominicans of San Marco. At eighteen, he went to Rome where he was an educator of the children of the Florentine Jailbird Hunt. He led a life of prayer and penance, by cultivating love of neighbor. Philip Neri also received many mystical graces, but he feared, out of humility, that they become visible. Mary appeared to him several times to help him, comfort him, or warn of a danger: when the prestart of the threat of collapse of a once and on another occasion he recovered from a serious illness.
In 1548, aided by a simple priest, Persiano Rosa, who would later become his usual confessor, he founded a pious confraternity responsible for assisting the poor and needy pilgrims in particular. This group would then be transformed and grow in the Oratory, attended by some great spiritual figures. The fraternity was born as a continuation of the talks that began in the confessional. The new methods were used in the help of souls: and the spiritual sermons were delivered in the vernacular, pilgrimages to the basilicas of Rome, simple spiritual exercises and prayers of the people; all this, combined with the character of Philip Neri, made him one of the most sought after spiritual leaders in Rome. He had many enemies who were suspicious of his activities (the austere Pope Pius V had monitored his sermons and the "country walks"). Soon, however, he was well accepted everywhere and became the trusted adviser of popes and confessor of cardinals. He was linked fraternally to Ignatius of Loyola, Francis de Sales, Charles Borromeo and Lellis Camillo. He was beatified in 1615 and canonized in 1622.
Visionary: A distinct Neapolitan lady
A distinct Neapolitan lady was very ill. A priest advised her to turn in prayer to the Blessed Virgin Mary for the grace of healing, the woman did so, and, after praying for a time, Mary appeared to her that she took away the illness.
Visionary: A wealthy Portuguese cityman
A wealthy Portuguese cityman was very ill. Then this man, who was very devoted to Our Lady, commanded his Muslim servant to put a statue of the Blessed Virgin in the room and adorn it with flowers every day. The Muslim servant obeyed without feeling forced to perform this task, indeed, full of love for Mary. When the Lady of Heaven appeared to him, she inspired him to be baptized so as not to have more doubts about the Catholic faith. The Muslim was baptized and became fully convinced a courageous defender of Catholic doctrine.
Visionary: Mary Magdalene de' Pazzi
Tabacué, Corrientes, (Argentina)
Title: The Virgin of Itati Visionary: Group of Indians
Visionary: Ruys de Portyllo, SJ
The Jesuit missionary Portyllo Ruys had the grace to see and contemplate a vision of Our Lady. From this apparition the Blessed Virgin led the missionary until his death in his difficult apostolate. No other details are known.
Visionary: Bl. Alphonsus de Orozco
Alphonus was born in 1500 in Oropesa, Spain. He studied at Talavera, Toledo, and Salamanca, and became an Augustinian at the age of twenty-two. St. Thomas of Villanova was one of his instructors, imbuing him with a spirit of recollection and prayer. Alphonsus, a popular preacher and confessor, served as prior of the Augustinians in Seville and then in 1554, at Valladolid. In 1556 he became a court preacher, and in 1561 accompanied King Philip II of Spain to Madrid. Throughout his court life, he did not engage in the pleasures or intrigues around him. His example of holiness made a great impression on the royal family and the nobles of Madrid. Alphonsus was given a vision of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and wrote treatises on prayer and penance as Our Lady instructed him. He was beatified in 1881.
Title: The Virgin of the Rosary, 'Queen of Guatemala' (statue)
The image of Our Lady of the Rosary, the work of unknown artists, was finished in 1592. Commissioned by Friar Lopez de Montoya, a Dominican priest, the statue was made completely of pure silver, but her robes and pedestal are not visible, having been covered by elaborate garments and ornaments.
Her devotees claim that the coloring of her beautiful face changes from bright pink to a much more faded shade whenever there is a conflict or some national misfortune is imminent. The image has a large rosary in her right hand and with her left one she holds the Child who seems to be trying to free himself from her embrace.
There is a popular tradition that the Virgin Mary went out to travel through America and that the Child fell asleep when they reached Guatemala, which is why she stayed there. In 1821 the leaders of the independence movement proclaimed her Patroness of the new nation, and they took an oath before her image that they would not rest until they freed Guatemala.
The Virgin of the Rosary was solemnly declared 'Queen of Guatemala' in 1833 and was crowned canonically on January 26, 1934 in a huge ceremony in the principal plaza of Guatemala in front of the cathedral. The ceremony had to be held in the open because there was no church large enough to hold the multitude that had gathered.
The crown which Archbishop Luis Durou placed on the head of the blessed image is a valuable silver jewel with which the people of Guatemala wanted to show their devotion and enthusiasm for their patroness. The artists who made it used one-hundred-and-twenty-one emeralds, forty-four diamonds, eighty pearls, five amethysts, a gold rose, etc. The church and convent of St. Dominic, current shrine of the Virgin of the Rosary, was begun in 1788 and completed in 1808. October, the month dedicated to the rosary, is the most popular and important religious happening for the Guatemalan people and nation.
The entire month is occasion for celebration, feasting, and constant pilgrimages to the sanctuary of the Virgin of the Rosary.
July 29, 1594
Inferior Morbio (Switzerland)
Title: Holy Mary of the Miracles Visionary: Caterina and Angela (two young girls posessed)
The Virgin appeared to the two girls Poor, sick and disturbed by the Devil on a hill in Switzerland in 1594 and cured tem . The "Madonna of milk" ordered the construction of a sanctuary that became the Santa Maria of Miracles on the border with Italy.
Visionary: Bernardino di Colpetrazzo (Capuchin monk 1513-1594)
Bernardino di Colpetrazzo, Capuchin monk, is known for his History of the Capuchin Order spanning the entire history of this Order from 1525 to 1593 (an important source text for the spiritual life of the sixteenth century). Once he saw the Mother of God descending from heaven with a magnificent crown of flowers as a reward for the purity of his soul and his diligent work.
Source: Laurentin. Dictionary of Marian Apparitions p60 (Ernst, 1989, 66 and Hierzenberger, 1993, 141)
Title: Our Lady of Good Success Visionary: Mother Mariana de Jesus Torres
of Good Success appeared to Spanish-born Mother
Mariana de Jesus Torres at her Conceptionist Royal
Convent in Quito, Ecuador. She requested that
a statue be made in her likeness and warned of
diminishing faith and vocations in the 20th century.
A girl, confined to bed for a long time due to a serious illness, he died while still young. Shortly before she died, she was visited by Mary together with the Saints and Angels that accompanied her and eased her transition.
Visionary: a deaf-mute
According to local legend, a deaf-mute who prayed much was suddenly freed from his infirmity by means of an apparition of Mary.
September 11 , 1595
MONTE BONICCA (Italy)
Visionaries: Many inhabitants of Campo Ligure and Masone
The Parish Church of Campo Ligure stands on the ruins of the Church of St. Mary in the Castle destroyed by the soldiers of the Republic of Genoa courses during the looting and the burning of Field July 22, 1600. The current building, late Baroque was built in the mid-seventeenth century. The interior has a single nave is richly decorated. Most of the decorations were made ??by Francesco de Lorenzi in the second half of the nineteenth century. The large fresco of the half-dome is Charles Orgiero and represents the Apparition of the Blessed Virgin of Mount Bonicca. Towards the '500 sharpened the conflict with the neighboring fief of Masone to the definition of the boundaries. The long conflict resulted in the peace of 1595, which was followed by the tragic events of July 1600. The Corsican soldiers sent to quell the revolt of the people against the misrule of the Spinola family, after a short siege set fire to the village, which was completely destroyed. During the 600 Field came to be populated with the reconstruction of the entire country and the colonization of land more distant from the town, to the ends of the feud. On September 11, 1595, the Blessed Virgin appeared to the inhabitants of Campo Ligure and Masone, two villages in the Valle Stura. The two communities were divided by political motives and by parochial hatreds and 4 centuries were bitter struggle. Between 5 and 9 September 1595, two representatives of the people of Campo went to Vico to implore the grace of the Madonna del Pilone peace. Upon their return to Field, September 10, during vespers in the church occurred unusual phenomena: some of the people fell to the ground unconscious, a woman known as a person idiot, full mystical fervor, he began to speak words of great content spiritual, etc.. The next day he met the men of Field with those of Masone and came to the peace, who celebrated together by participating in a Mass in Masone. After the celebration, everyone saw on Mount Bonicca a white cloud that seemed to consist of a large army of people. This soon vanished, giving way to another equally bright cloud, made ??in the manner of the chapel. Disappearance which appeared lower a woman dressed in blue coat, with one arm out, and a white veil on her head, as they use the nuns, his face shining as much as not being able to fix in the eye. She stood behind two other women. Appeared, as a result, yet another cloud white and shining, made ??in the manner of the tower, which soon expanded into a woman dressed in white, who walked quickly over the woods, following them quickly to the valley and then disappear. He reappeared again in the top of the mountain, always dressed in white, with a white veil on her head, accompanied by two women placed at its sides, also dressed in white, who were in the act of reverence. The appearances were preceded by 4 cases of healing.
Source: "Marian Apparitions" of M.Gamba, ed. Sign with additional information obtained from the respective municipalities.
Arona, Piedmont (Italy)
Visionary: Emmanuel Sa, SJ (1530-1596)
Holy Maria appeared several times a Portuguese Jesuit Emmanuel Sa, lecturer and professor of moral theology, who from 1545 belonged to the Order of Jesuits. The Holy Virgin appeared once again in 1596 with Ignatius of Loyola and predicted the day of his death (December 30).
Visionary: St. Peter Canisius (1521-1597)
Mary appeared repeatedly to Peter Canisius, later called "the apostle of Germany" for his work of evangelization in this country. Canisius and the Order of the Jesuits established themselves as the main defenders of the Roman Church in Germany, Peter was a valuable and respected protagonist of the Counter-Reformation and first considered by Leo XIII, "the second Apostle of Germany after St. Boniface." He dedicated his life to apostolic and received the reward of frequent ecstasy and mystical visions. Among these there was an apparition of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in the days of the profession of his vows (September 4, 1549), when the mystic Jesuit had received this vision at the same time also a Marian apparition, because he was heard to exclaim: "Even Mary has blessed me. " So little time before his death his brother heard him say, "See? You see her? She is here. " Of course, the mystic again alluded to Mary, who accompanied him in eternity.
Peter Canisius had come in contact with the Cartesian Devotio modern spirituality during his theological studies in Cologne. In April 1543, Peter Faber, one of the first companions of Ignatius of Loyola, the proposed retreat for visitors to see clearly his vocation. Canisius was greatly reinforced by the fact these exercises, arrived in 1546 as a Jesuit priest at the consecration, and obtained his doctorate in theology. Soon acquired a reputation for following the publication of books and patristic mystics and was sent to the Council of Trent. Theologian Peter Canisius was active in Ingolstadt, Vienna, Prague, Augsburg, Innsbruck and Monaco of Bavaria, by the Society of Jesus, an important factor for the Catholic renewal in the century of the Reformation. In Rome, Canisius received in 1549 to devote himself to the mission of Catholic restoration, which taken with true joy. The Jesuit theologian dedicated his life to the apostolate in all its possible forms, opposed the reformers not only in terms of doctrine, but also on the pastoral in which he was tirelessly active. Gave wide circulation to Marian confraternities, especially in the Jesuit colleges. Also promoted the spread of the recitation of the Rosary and Litany. He was also active in teaching catechism to children and young people, in sermons and in visits to the sick. He took the Christian doctrine to the people and the poor peasants, even in the most isolated rural areas. He worked also for the development of the Germanic College, founded by Ignatius in Rome. "The Apostle of Germany" was in conflict with his disciple Karl Hoffaus issues that regulated the tributes of private revelations and controversy and possession. Canisius represented the conservative positions within the Church, which were criticized by the "modernist" because they are not suited to the times.
He was sent to Freiburg where he established a new College. In 1577 his book on the Virgin Mary was released, a tribute to the defense of her virginity and a deep devotion to Mary. Peter Canisius was canonized and declared Doctor of the Church by Pope Pius X1 in 1925.
An old picture of the Blessed Virgin Mary suddenly had tears of blood, the numerous people who were present witnessed the event. No other details received.
April 29, 1596
Reggio Emilia (Italy)
Title: Beata Vergine della Ghiara Visionary: Marchino
In 1569 a devoted citizen of Reggio, Emilian, Ludovico Pratissoli, made ??by the famous painter Lelio Orsi perform a drawing depicting the Virgin and Child. In fact, on the wall of the garden of the Fathers of the Servants of Mary, present in Reggio Emilia since 1313, was an old picture - which has become illegible - depicting the Blessed Virgin. In 1573 the same Pratissoli instructed the painter Giovanni Bianchi cheese, Bertone said, to translate the design Orsi fresco on the Canton de 'Servi, that' on the wall of the garden. Today a memory marble commemorates the place where the painting was located, since this was solemnly translated in the church. In 1595 Julia Tagliavini obtained custody of the Image became frequent destination of devotees in the meantime had been resected from the wall and carried by a small chapel built with the offerings of the faithful.
On April 29, 1596 took place the First Miracle: the intercession of the Blessed Virgin, before whose image was praying, a young seventeen year old named Marchino, a native of Castelnuovo ne 'Monti - location' Reggiano Apennines - dumb from birth, obtained the word. The miraculous event caused a remarkable concurrence of the faithful. They also began the pilgrimages of the brotherhoods.
Bishop Claudio Rangoni instructed the canonical process with care, and the deeds were sent to Pope Clement VIII, who approved the miracle, as appears from a letter of July 29, 1596 the Sacred Congregation of Rites, in which were also authorized pilgrimages.
Title: Blessed Virgin of the Adoration
Visionary: Margherita "La Caughliana"
Fivizzano, a town on the border of Tuscany and of the province of Massa Carrara, lies on a fertile hill that descends the Tuscan Emilian Apennines on the national road to the Passo del Cerreto, at Reggio Emilia. Its origin dates back to a settlement before the Ligurian-Etruscan survives the Samnite invasion and later joins a Roman colony. Through the centuries has different rules and principles of the Marquesas that make it an important stronghold. From 1478 passes under the dominion of Florence that holds it as a summer residence, Cosimo I de 'Medici the surrounding solid walls. It then passes under the government of Modena until the unification of Italy, as a bulwark of security with its walls and its castles. Today it is a charming resort town, partly rebuilt in a modern style, after the terrible earthquake of 1920 that devastated.
In this "pearl lost in the mountains" blooms since 1596 a great devotion to Our Lady rooted in the Shrine of Our Lady of Adoration, who flock to the people of Lunigiana.
A humble woman named Margaret, said Caugliana from the country of origin of the husband, lives his simple and ordinary life of mother and family of the bride, when he suddenly fell ill. It is thought to one of those usual diseases for which we soon recovers, but spend the days, weeks and Margaret does not improve. Doctors do not know how to determine the nature of sickness, the care does not lead to nothing. The sick woman lying motionless in his bed with no hope of regaining his strength and to be able to raise. The story raises profound piety, wherever you talk to her, of his unhappy case, and began a long pilgrimage of people who come to greet and comfort the sick poor. Then, gradually takes over addiction and indifference. The hope of healing moves away, the visits are becoming less frequent. Just some gossip of the neighborhood, and some are fond acquaintance to keep her company and to lend some service. The world continues its pace of life and Margarita is always present to itself, conscious of his pain and his unhappy state. From the bed of his sufferings prays and hopes.
After eighteen years of this illness and loneliness, reaches the ears of the news that Margaret in Reggio Emilia, in a deserted town, called "The Ghiara," an Image of the Virgin Mary who is venerated with pantry and extraordinary favors. The invalid's confidence revives, it is also certain that Our Lady will make her grace. From that moment comes to life and grows into her confidence. In this state of mind, one day hears and sees to ask permission to open the door is Nicola Vaseschi, neighbor and friend, that having to carry on business in Reggio, went to ask for more politeness than conviction, if Margherita I need something. The sick woman sees in this visit to the inspiration of heaven, and immediately answers: "The great thing, you will travel a little discomfort. Bring an Image of the Virgin of Ghiara. " It does not say anything, but it is recommended that Nicholas did not forget, and live in hope. "Do you think, Daisy! - Answered Nicholas - Take into account you already have the picture with you."
A few days later, precisely May 5, 1596, Vaseschi returns, and Margaret first asks: "And the Picture? '. The invalid anxiety, the poor man understands the seriousness of his forgetfulness, and confused, his head lowered responds with a faint voice, "Margaret, I forgot." The sick woman who in the heat of desire at the sight of Vaseschi it is raised slightly, falling on the pillows, her eyes fill with tears, and with a gesture of invocation, looks to the sky. Wonder! To the beam of the ceiling hangs an Image of the Virgin Mary, quite big: the image so desired.'s The Madonna della Ghiara, sweet and gentle in the act of worshiping the Son, with pretty flowers at his feet. Margaret cries and feel a new vitality in his members; suddenly returned to the elasticity of the movements. It does bring his clothes, rushed out of bed and on his knees, with his arms outstretched to the Image, exclaims, "I am healed, I am healed." The tears flow from his eyes heavy. After eighteen years of immobility and disease, it is now out of bed, healthy and in force, in front Image miraculously appeared. Also she repeats the miracle of Marchino , the dumb guy, that apparition of Our Lady of Ghiara, a few kilometers away, six days before, on April 29 of that year, he regained the word.
The news came out in a heartbeat and people come. In that humble room, a witness for so many years of pain the poor sick, now healed, begins the first fervent veneration of that Image, which reaches up to the present day. Our Lady called by the inhabitants of Fivizzano "the Madonna di Reggio" is liturgically venerated under the title of "Our Lady of Adoration," the attitude of adoration with which Mary is addressed to the Son. Popular devotion is widespread and deeply felt, and every house has its own image, placed on the front and in the rooms, and up to this generation brides led engraved in the ring double the image of "Our Lady of Adoration." (2 ) Don Mario Morra SDB (from the magazine "Mary Help of Christians" of the homonymous sanctuary of Turin) 1 Anonymous, History of the miraculous image of the Blessed Virgin Mary under the title of Adoration which is venerated in the church of the illustrious Provost Fivizzano of which is the principal patron (Parma, Carmignani 1802). 2 Ezio Pandiani, The miraculous apparition. History of the miraculous image of the Blessed Virgin Adoration (Fivizzano, Conti 1966).
MiracleHunter.com is the best resource for Marian Apparitions on the web. The site includes approval lists, visionary biographies, detailed apparition summaries, messages, official Church statements and a photo gallery.